SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Basic animation question - importing X,Y,Z path data

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
25-06-2008, 05:50 PM   #1
jt_04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Basic animation question - importing X,Y,Z path data
Hi Everyone,

I'm completely new to Maya. I'm working on a project where we video butterflies using two high-speed cameras. Using Matlab, we then track a certain point on the butterfly in both camera views and obtain the X,Y,Z position of that point versus time.

I am trying to figure out how to animate a butterfly along that path in Maya. Right now I am just starting out with small steps (trying to animate a rigid butterfly along a single path). My data comes in a txt file with the columns:

time X Y Z

My question is: what is the best way to animate an object along that path defined in my text file? We can do it by manually typing in the X,Y,Z using the keyframe animation procedure, but that is painstaking.

Is there a way to import my X,Y,Z data into some sort of motion path, then I can just attach my object to the path and animate it?

Or should I create a .anim file from my data and read that in?

Any ideas would be awesome! Thanks!
  Reply with quote
25-06-2008, 06:53 PM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,709
I believe you have to have Maya Unlimited to be able to do this although not 100% certain but in Maya Live you can go to track and then select import track points which should allow you to navigate to your txt file with the data.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner

Last edited by jsprogg; 25-06-2008 at 09:00 PM.
  Reply with quote
25-06-2008, 10:27 PM   #3
jt_04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks a lot! I'm using the student version, and when i click on the Maya Live plugin, it says I don't have a license for it. bummer. thanks for your help though!
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very Basic Connection Editor Question Falott Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 06-02-2011 08:00 AM
importing tracking data to maya? elementsk8er506 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 14-11-2008 08:55 AM
Motion Path question the_renans Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 29-09-2006 10:41 PM
Animation Curve Path Problem Sardo Numspa Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 04-04-2003 09:47 PM
Motion Path Question Zombra Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 06-03-2003 06:59 PM