SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Programming / Spin Faces

Programming MEL Scripts, Expressions & Programming Related Topics

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 2 of 2 1 2
 
Thread Tools
18-02-2014, 12:16 AM   #16
Juanpax
Having Fun!!!!
 
Juanpax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 157
Sorry
  Reply with quote
18-02-2014, 12:37 AM   #17
sampson01
Subscriber
 
sampson01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Williamson, WV
Posts: 118
Quote:
Yeah spinFaces is a life saver.

I'm running 2013. Stick the script in your Maya2014 scripts folder. Then go to the script editor file > source script> selct the spinfaces mel. then in the command line or script editor simply type spinFaces;

should work. then place that same command ( spinFaces; ) on your shelf.

sometimes the script punks out when you open a new maya so just repeat the process.

Jay
Worked! Thanks Jay.
__________________
Sampson
  Reply with quote
18-02-2014, 12:34 PM   #18
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,277
good stuff...carry on....

Jay
  Reply with quote
01-05-2014, 09:13 AM   #19
Podpro
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
hi new at this forum where can I download spin faces tool maya 2013
  Reply with quote
01-05-2014, 03:55 PM   #20
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,277
go to creative crash and just download the version there, and read through the last few posts here....it will save you time and you will know what to expect


cheers
Jay
  Reply with quote
01-05-2014, 08:15 PM   #21
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Just to be clear, what's the difference between the spin faces script and the spin edge forward/backward in Maya? I've downloaded the script and tried them both out and as far as I can tell they function identically. Maybe there's special topology cases where one doesn't work?
  Reply with quote
01-05-2014, 09:38 PM   #22
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,277
you can use the spin faces tool for both operations instead of using each as a separate tool...

for me also the spin faces tool has been part of my tool kit waaaaaaay before spin edges so for me its a given

J
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 2 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replace faces with vertices? Darkware Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 21-07-2013 05:08 AM
Cut faces tool issue... LadySekhmet Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 14-03-2009 04:24 AM
how come i dont have a keep faces planar option? Chirone Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 14-01-2008 08:42 AM
Spin Faces script Rhetoric Camel Programming 0 07-01-2007 07:54 PM
Don't know how to scale multiple faces. Darkware Maya Modeling 6 30-12-2002 08:00 PM