Substance Painter
In this start to finish texturing project within Substance Painter we cover all the techniques you need to texture the robot character.
# 1 15-08-2011 , 06:25 PM
PixalZA's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Posts: 525

Solid Shatter Limitation?

Hi Everybody

I have started experimenting with shatter under dynamics. I've found that as long as I stick to simple primitive polygons (cube, sphere, cylinder etc), then shatter works perfectly. Even after applying some modeling to the primitive like extrude, bevel etc, it still works.
The moment I combine two or more primitives into polySurface, then I get the following:
select -r pCube1 ;
DeleteAllHistory;
solidShatter( "solidShatter", 5, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0.3668, 0, 1, "rigid bodies with collisions off", 0, 1);
// Error: If you want to shatter polySurface1, please first do Edit | Delete By Type -> History.
//
// Error: An error occurred while running the Solid Shatter script. Results may be invalid. If necessary, undo to restore the previous situation. //
The only limitation that I can find in the manual is that the polygon has to be a closed surface for solid shatter, open surface for crack shatter and open or open surface for surface shatter.

I did perform a cleanup and clear history before attempting the solid shatter.

What am I doing wrong here? Or did I hit a limitation of solid shatter?

Thanks
Johan

# 2 17-08-2011 , 10:33 AM
gster123's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
The solid shatter is pretty pants to be honest and full of bugs. I would recommend looking on CG talk in the Meye dynamics section, there is a great thread on this, I persoally recommed the following MEL script. Works really well.

https://www.creativecrash.com/maya/do.../dg_voro_py--2

Steve


"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
# 3 17-08-2011 , 04:07 PM
PixalZA's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Posts: 525
Thanks Steve. The MEL script works great.

# 4 05-04-2012 , 05:09 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
where do you put the script after you download it?

# 5 05-04-2012 , 07:50 AM
PixalZA's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Posts: 525
Hi pazromero, on my mac I placed it under /Users/<userid>/Library/Preferences/Autodesk/maya/2011-x64/scripts. Maybe one of the Windows gurus here can give us the Windows equivalent.

# 6 05-04-2012 , 02:51 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Thank you so much! i have a mac as well but it seems like the file directories are different for maya 2012. any suggestions for 2012?

# 7 05-04-2012 , 04:09 PM
PixalZA's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Posts: 525
I would think it will be the same directory structure but with 2012-x64 instead of 2011-x64. I can't remember whether this was q customizable option at installation time or not.

Other Mac users here, any ideas for this?

# 8 05-04-2012 , 05:30 PM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
You can place it in /Users/username/Library/Preferences/Autodesk/maya/scripts and it will work for any installed version of Maya.

You can also run the following, and it will give you a semi-colon delimited listing where Maya's looking for scripts.

Code:
getenv MAYA_SCRIPT_PATH;
The SOuP plugin also has a shatter node, which has a lot more features than the script above. It will be faster too, as it's written in C++. https://www.soup-dev.com/examples2_3.htm


Imagination is more important than knowledge.

Last edited by NextDesign; 05-04-2012 at 05:37 PM.
# 9 06-04-2012 , 10:30 AM
David's Avatar
SM Tea Boy
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Prague
Posts: 3,221
Dam next design beat me to it I use SOuP for all my shattering needs user added image

It's not exactly a simple plugin to get your head round though.


From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
# 10 09-04-2012 , 05:13 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
yeah SOuP is great and amazing!!!user added image i was wondering will i have to delete the previous shatter script in order for soup to work?

# 11 09-04-2012 , 05:19 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
ThanK You!! this is a great resource will i have to delete original script i installed?

# 12 09-04-2012 , 05:33 PM
David's Avatar
SM Tea Boy
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Prague
Posts: 3,221
Nope you should not have to delete other scripts to get SOuP to work. You'll need to put in quite a bit of effort to use SOuP it's a complex beast that requires an understanding of Maya's inner workings, you'll learn a lot about Maya and how it works though if you stick with it.

Not the worlds easiest task.
Dave user added image


From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
# 13 19-04-2012 , 04:30 AM
Subscriber
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 258

Thank you so much! i have a mac as well but it seems like the file directories are different for maya 2012. any suggestions for 2012?

Since you have maya2012. Have you tried using the DMM plug-in that comes with maya instead of shatter. Far more better than that shatter junk.

Concrete Block Destruction with DMM plugin for Maya - YouTube

# 14 19-04-2012 , 04:47 AM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988

Since you have maya2012. Have you tried using the DMM plug-in that comes with maya instead of shatter. Far more better than that shatter junk.

Huh... I didn't even know it was included in 2012. Thanks for sharing!


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 15 24-04-2012 , 04:23 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6

thanks

were Do you find the plugin at in the menu items?

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads