SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Very Basic Connection Editor Question

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
05-02-2011, 01:31 PM   #1
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Very Basic Connection Editor Question
Ok, it´s all about bump mapping here.

My ridiculous problem is that even after 7 years of using maya extensivly it seems that I cannot even make the simplest connection work via the Connection Editor.

I have my shader and want to map a black/white texture to the bump channel using the Attribute Editor. Render. Fine.
(ConnectionEditor says: outalpha -> bumpvalue; the texture.message seems to be connected to something as well, but I cannot find any node where this link is showing up)

Now trying the same by selecting another texture (basically the same texture but created by the Hypershade´s sidebar) and linking its outalpha with bumpvalue of my bump2d via the Connection Editor. Render. No bump happening.

It seems that the only way to make bumpmapping work is to hit the map button within the shader itself. What am I missing here? And what´s the texture.message connected to?

thanks and sorry for the stupid question



___________edit__________
sorry for question, its working again. I have no idea whats going on
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.

Last edited by Falott; 05-02-2011 at 01:49 PM.
  Reply with quote
05-02-2011, 02:43 PM   #2
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Are you using an MR shader mate by any chance???


Jay
  Reply with quote
05-02-2011, 04:33 PM   #3
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
I have a misss_fast_skin_maya in use. but it must have been a temporary bug or something because it´s all working again.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
  Reply with quote
05-02-2011, 04:46 PM   #4
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Hey Fallott

Cool.

A word of warning though with MR materials and the bump node, it doesnt like them very much so plugging a set normal node into the bump first then plug your texture in usually corrects the issue, just one of those little nuggets that come in handy

cheers
Jay
  Reply with quote
06-02-2011, 08:00 AM   #5
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
thanks for the hint Jay!

I´ll keep that in mind. it´s always funny how very small differences concerning the order of working steps make things work in maya - or not.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connection Editor - Face MoCap Connection to Blendshapes Luc.Adriaens Animation 1 02-06-2017 11:31 AM
rigging controls: parent'ing vs. connection editor? richparker Animation 0 11-03-2015 01:51 AM
Basic Blend shapes problem meterizos Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 21-11-2014 07:09 AM
Connection Editor Attributes ... mtcgs Lighting & Rendering 0 19-11-2009 07:15 PM
Some Basic Projects Newbie_Student Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 06-11-2007 04:18 AM