Complex UV Layout in Maya
Over the last couple of years UV layout in Maya has changed for the better. In this course we're going to be taking a look at some of those changes as we UV map an entire character
# 1 05-01-2011 , 06:54 AM
Subscriber

First model

Hey everyone! I'm completely new to Maya but it's been on my computer for quite some time and now I want to actually learn as I'm starting to have interest in creating games and I wanted to create my own character for my first game. Hours ago I bought the video training tutorial "Low Poly Character Study - Freeky " and followed the steps in creating my own character from a different reference instead of the one in the tutorial. I wanted to post progress and know what you guys think so far?

I screenshotted it, don't know if that's the correct way to show what I've got done (and let me know if it is please? :p) but here it is! (attachments below)

The reference I'm using (not mine): https://www.brianluk.com/gallery/pict...et_colored.jpg

Questions/Concerns I have:

1. Is it because I'm modeling with nurbs that it doesn't count my Tris/Triangles?
(I need to know because the game engine I'm using has a limit of Tris which I think is 1000 or 2000)

2. Tutorials on low poly hair? Links would be much appreciated.

3. How would I go about clothing her?

Attached Thumbnails

Last edited by TonyNooblet; 05-01-2011 at 07:07 AM.
# 2 05-01-2011 , 09:21 AM
Subscriber
I apologize for double posting but I have a few problems user added image

When I click a vertex, the surrounding changes colors and it moves as I adjust that vertex and it really bugs me somehow. (Attachment below)

Also I accidentally pressed the space bar on my work space and it did something and now my top left workspace/view and right are now linked and have the same view. I've tried to change it back to "Top" or "Perspective" but it just changes both of them if I try to change one.

Attached Images
# 3 05-01-2011 , 01:59 PM
Lead Modeler - Framestore