SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Different colours in- and outside. Possible?

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
12-04-2006, 08:37 PM   #1
puremedia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 14
Different colours in- and outside. Possible?
Hi again!
I wonder if it is possible to have different colours on letīs say
on a cylinders in- and outside without duplicate the cylinder.
Peter
  Reply with quote
13-04-2006, 12:42 AM   #2
farbtopf
Subscriber
 
farbtopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 520
I know you can switch the inside of objects off and do something to it. I did it a while ago so I can't really remember maybe it was called something like "backface culling" check the maya help.
But what stops you from just duplicating your cylinder?

good luck anyway
  Reply with quote
13-04-2006, 11:11 AM   #3
puremedia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 14
Hi!
The reason is that Iīve done a carachter for children that is
a cylinder with eyes, hat and mouth. The mouth is done by
projecting a curve on surface, so itīs just a hole and then I did
blendshapes on the curve. Works fine, but since itīs just a hole
it gets the same colour as the body. So if I could get the inside
black the mouth wold be more vissible.

Peter
  Reply with quote
13-04-2006, 12:20 PM   #4
farbtopf
Subscriber
 
farbtopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 520
If I understand you right I think the sollution might be quite easy. But you would have to convert to polys. Go to component mode and select faces. Now select the faces inside your mouth. Go to your hypershade create a new material right click on it and click assign material to selection.

hope it helped
  Reply with quote
13-04-2006, 06:40 PM   #5
puremedia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 14
Didīnt work. I guess Iīm only a little lazy trying to avoid
doing it from scratch and duplicate the body(cylinder).
Trial and error is the word for today and tomorrow to I guess.

Thankīs anyway!:p
  Reply with quote
13-04-2006, 06:59 PM   #6
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
its in the documentation how to make a shader switch.

just type double sided shader in the help field.
__________________
Image dump
  Reply with quote
13-04-2006, 09:11 PM   #7
puremedia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 14
Iīll do that.

Thankīs
  Reply with quote
14-04-2006, 07:34 PM   #8
puremedia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 14
That made it!
Thankīs very much!:attn:

Peter
  Reply with quote