SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / obj import in maya PLE

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
17-04-2008, 01:28 PM   #1
beskow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
obj import in maya PLE
Greetings,
I just downloaded Maya PLE and I can't figure out how to import an OBJ file. Under file|import it lists several formats but not OBJ, and when I try "best guess" it says file format not recognized...

Can anybody confirm that maya ple can't imoport OBJ-files or tell me what may be wrong?

The doc's states that PLE doesn't ship with OBJ Exporter but it says nothing about import... Are there alternative (free) plugins that handle obj import/export?

thanks
- Jonas
  Reply with quote
17-04-2008, 02:00 PM   #2
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
window -> preferences -> plugins

check the objImport plugin there.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
  Reply with quote
17-04-2008, 04:16 PM   #3
beskow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
No such plugin un the list... I have only theese:

Iges.mll
Mayatomr.mll
VectorRender.mll
animImportExport.mll
clearcoat.mll
compositingInterop.mll
decomposeMatrix.mll
fbxmaya.mll
ik2Bsolver.mll
ikSpringSolver.mll
rotateHelper.mll
stlImport.mll
studioImport.mll

so I guess this means it is not available in the PLE?

- Jonas
  Reply with quote
17-04-2008, 04:46 PM   #4
Weyu
Registered User
 
Weyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 482
Are you sure you cant just import without the object EXPORTER? I think I've done it without having it active, not certain tho. And there is no reason for them to have import disabled for PLE.
  Reply with quote
17-04-2008, 06:39 PM   #5
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
I might be wrong, but i don't think PLE supports obj imports. i think you need to find someone who can convert your file to ma. or mb.

i'd offer, but i'm stuck at work for the next couple of days....
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
  Reply with quote
17-04-2008, 07:13 PM   #6
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
good idea. I could convert it for you. drop your file here.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya 2016 OBJ import problem colinpragg Maya Technical Issues 2 18-09-2015 01:06 AM
Maya Doesn't Startup Properly - Just Script Editor threedsnack Maya Technical Issues 1 04-02-2008 11:55 AM
Converting MP file, Maya PLE LadySekhmet Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 25-09-2007 01:04 AM
font and illustrator import into maya farbtopf Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 25-06-2006 11:58 AM
Maya 5.0 - problems with dxf import Renderizer Maya Technical Issues 1 06-06-2003 06:06 PM