SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / Insert Edge Loop not displaying

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
12-04-2009, 01:25 PM   #1
halfloaf
Lifetime Member
 
halfloaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 191
Insert Edge Loop not displaying
Hiya all,

I'm busy with the Chef Ramsay tut and I've just about finished the jacket and trousers. For some reason I have lost all visual feedback on the "Insert Edge Loop" tool. Usually, when inserting an edge loop, I'd have a dotted green line moving on the edge I'm inserting on, though this is missing now for some reason. All I get is the knife type pointer and then nothing until I finish the command, where I then see the new edge loop.

So, select Insert Edge Loop, click on edge. Expect to see dotted line move with mouse as I move on the edge...It's not there!

This only happens in this one scene. If I start a new scene the tool functions as usual. Maybe a setting has gone ape?

Any help appreciated. I'm on 2009 SP1.

-Jacques
  Reply with quote
12-04-2009, 08:16 PM   #2
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
If a setting has gone off track reset the tool in the tool options or export the object as an obj, then bring it in again, might be something as easy as that. Maya has that tendency to work in this manner

J
  Reply with quote
12-04-2009, 08:48 PM   #3
halfloaf
Lifetime Member
 
halfloaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 191
Will try that Jay, thanks!

edit: Importing the old objects into a new scene worked!

-Jacques

Last edited by halfloaf; 12-04-2009 at 08:50 PM.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another 'insert edge loop' question, "ridges" penciltester Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 08-06-2018 12:25 AM
Problem with Insert Edge Loop tool toddersby Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 22-05-2018 08:12 AM
Problem with Insert Edge Loop Tool looni Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 13-12-2014 10:18 AM
Insert edge loop or use crease tool? mendosa69 Maya Modeling 7 09-12-2014 02:09 PM
Insert edge loop gets sticky djwaterman Maya Modeling 3 24-04-2012 05:48 AM