Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 28-12-2004 , 04:44 PM

questions about game design/setting up maya

Hi there.

I'm hoping someone can help with this but basically, I am new to Maya and am interested in designing video game levels. The areas that I need help/reccomendations on include:

1. What is the best way to figure out scale for your polygon/nurb models? I am interested in making large cityscapes and outdoor levels and am not sure how the above is accomplished best.

2. Is there any particular lighting that should be used specifically for video games?

3. I'm having problems with the camera.. specifically I can make a new camera and adjust it's placement.. but the viewing angle always seems to point downward and not sure where to edit/change this. I'm also interested in how the camera will relate to scale in question number 1 and anything else I should be aware of?

4. related to question 1.... have adjust depth of field I believe it is called and a few other settings related to draw distance... but is there anyway I can specify dimension for an entire map/gameworld area in maya.. I find myself making huge ground planes but after zooming out.. portions of the plane always dissapear and don't know if there is anyway around this?

Thank you to anyone that has any suggestions/links.. .I really appreciate you taking the time to help out a newb. user added image

# 2 28-12-2004 , 06:50 PM
The answers to your questions are highly dependent on which game engine you are using or plan to use. For instance, each game engine handles lighting differently. Some allow you to create the lighting in Maya. Others require that you use their built-in editors to add lighting.