SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / polygon plane used for image plane issues

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
05-12-2011, 05:46 PM   #1
kvnmcwebn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 29
polygon plane used for image plane issues
Hi I'm doing a class project that requires image plans as the reference for a model. I created orthographic views for the image planes. I am using the book "Introduction to Maya 2011" as a reference. In this book it recommends using polygon planes with a lambert text of your drawing applied to it instead of image planes.
The big problem i'm having is getting the image to scale properly on the polygon plane. The method in the book requires you to scale the polygon plane to the same aspect ratio as the source image used in the lambert's color texture. Problem is that it's not working at all for me. Should i just use regular image planes instead or is there a lot of advantages to using polygon planes?

thanks.
  Reply with quote
05-12-2011, 11:31 PM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
First create the poly plane with the right aspect ratio (I usually get the pixel dimensions and divide by 100 or something like that). Then do a planar projection for the UVs (not sure if that's critical, the UVs might be right by default, but better to be safe). Then apply your file texture. Hope that helps.
  Reply with quote
05-12-2011, 11:41 PM   #3
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
you can do create UVs planer mapping on your poly plane that should fix that, there are pros and cons with most things in maya, pros are you can move the plane around easy and save to layer so you dont move it when its where you want it, main con for me is if you go to wire mode your image will also be in wire mode......dave

Edit:Stwert snap
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010

Last edited by daverave; 05-12-2011 at 11:50 PM.
  Reply with quote
06-12-2011, 11:25 AM   #4
kvnmcwebn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 29
thanks. Yes the layers was the big benefit according to the book, I can see why. I didn't think about the wireframe though. Ok I did have the planes the same aspect ratio as the source files but i didn't check the planar mapping cheers for that guys.
  Reply with quote
06-12-2011, 12:20 PM   #5
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
Usually what I do is use the photoshop bridge info to set the height and width of the poly plane (see image marked 1 and 4 to see I set the h=13.9 and the w=13.9). This just ensures the proper aspect ratio you can scale it afterwards.

Then create a lambert and click on the checkered box to the right of the color slot (see image marked 2) in this shot I already have set the file for the color so there is a black arrow where the checkered box would be.

Then browse to the image file (see image marked 3)

Then assign the lambert to the poly plane

Then AND THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT go to the poly plane creation node and drop down the create uv's box and set normalization off. Otherwise you will not always get the proper coverage. (see image marked 4)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	2059
Size:	304.2 KB
ID:	49735   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	2062
Size:	25.0 KB
ID:	49737   Click image for larger version

Name:	4.jpg
Views:	2060
Size:	93.9 KB
ID:	49738  
Attached Images
 
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram; 06-12-2011 at 12:22 PM.
  Reply with quote
06-12-2011, 08:39 PM   #6
kvnmcwebn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 29
hi ct, that's great. So you can actually get the aspect ratio from bridge, nice. Are you using hypershade for the lambert much, or are all those attributes set in the channel/attribute editor?

Also CT i'm going to link a drawing for my final class project. I'd like you to tell me what modeling approach would be easiest, it doesn't need to be super accurate. I'm not really ready for patch modelling. I even thought of extruding the front view shape along a path as you did in your keg video. I started off importing a series of curves from illustrator. I was going to loft a cross section of it, but maybe just polygon modelling with smoothing would be best for a beginner. But yeah if you could just tell me what approach would be the easiest for my drawings. Again the model doesn't have to be super accurate, it's an intro class.
I put a link up because the image attachments seem to get wiped fairy quickly.

project drawings



thanks
-Kevin
  Reply with quote
06-12-2011, 10:23 PM   #7
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
Well you create the lambert in the hypdershade then use the channel box to set the color to point to a file (by clicking the checkered box).

I looked at your reference image. It kind of depends on what was taught in you course and the method that the instructor expects you to use.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
  Reply with quote
06-12-2011, 10:28 PM   #8
kvnmcwebn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 29
First the instructor wanted us to do all polygon modelling but then he told me maybe I should do lofting. I don't think I have the time left to try both methods properly.
  Reply with quote
06-12-2011, 10:36 PM   #9
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
Is the instructor teaching any of this stuff or is he just dumping you in the deep end of the pool and saying figure it out or drowned I don't care which?

You could loft a set of section curves like the fuse from this thread http://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=35873

Or you could start from a cylinder and model the right side of the body shape from that.

Or you could draw a curve along the top profile and the bottom and loft between those two curves and then add edge loops one at a time and message them using the top and front image as a guide.

But I think the easiest for a beginner would be start with a plane at the front and then extrude it back along the length of the body adjusting the verts to the image planes as you go. Adjust the verts at the top, and bottom, and belt line first as you can see those in silhouette from the reference images and the in between edges you will have to just adjust by feel.

I don't want to go into to much detail as this is a school project. But if the teacher has not demonstrated any of this stuff I am not sure how you are supposed to figure it out without asking for help from someplace or looking for tuts online.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram; 06-12-2011 at 11:11 PM.
  Reply with quote
08-12-2011, 03:56 AM   #10
kvnmcwebn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 29
Rick i like the model of the fighter plane. That's a great post. I'm going to try lofting my drawing like that except simplified... keeping it all one piece etc. thanks
  Reply with quote
08-12-2011, 05:06 AM   #11
PixalZA
Lifetime Member
 
PixalZA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Posts: 525
"Then AND THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT go to the poly plane creation node and drop down the create uv's box and set normalization off."
ctbram, I did not know this. I just used to adjust the uv to fill the full 0,0 to 1,1 range.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Polygon plane crashes Mental Ray (fatal..null DB tag) jttraverse Lighting & Rendering 0 15-05-2015 02:45 AM
Create polygon tool Srkukali Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 23-01-2014 02:40 PM
import image to polygon plane aerende Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 05-08-2009 01:30 AM
Trying to get an image onto a polygon plane ninogan Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 10-05-2009 06:45 PM
Polygon Image Plane ZeJudge Maya Technical Issues 3 19-03-2006 09:51 PM