SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / Ncloth :(
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-08-2008, 01:13 PM   #1
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default Ncloth :(

So yeah, my computer isnt great, its a duel core AMD Athlon 64 X2 with a gig of ram, and an Nvidia GeForce 8600 All on a windows vista computer.... Now, that should be good enough for maya, right? Wrong...

When I try to run ncloth simulations, it always crashes at frame 3, and I have no idea why. I have looked on google, but I couldn't find anything.... any ideas on what the problem is, and how to fix it?

I really wish I had the option of running cloth simulations, because they are soooooooo cool, hehe
-Andy
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com

Last edited by Joopson : 18-08-2008 at 01:23 PM.
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2008, 06:12 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Dunno why mate, my really poor desktop 1.7gig 1 gig 4000 Gforce runs em no probs
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2008, 10:49 PM   #3
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

You NEED more than a total of 1 gig of ram for Vista and Maya to run at the same time without experiencing issues.
(per the Autodesk support sub.)

What version of Maya are you running?
I ask because if you are running 8.5, the SP1 download from Autodesk fixed a TON of nCloth issues.

Let us know
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2008, 01:29 AM   #4
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,883
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

i have 8.5 unlimited and Windows Vista. I downloaded the SP1 but it seems its not the Unlimited version. Did I miss something? Becasue I really want the SP1 but don't want to loose nCloth or fluids.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2008, 02:24 AM   #5
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,501
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

I couldn't agree with ragecgi more, it could be another issue but 1 gig of RAM is simply not enough, it'll barely make it on XP, Vista will eat that alive and on top of that you're running Maya.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2008, 06:47 AM   #6
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Perfecto
I downloaded the SP1 but it seems its not the Unlimited version. Did I miss something?
No problem.
The instructions are a bit cryptic at Autodesk's site on how to correctly install the SP1 updater.

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...linkID=9242259

First, you must UNinstall Maya 8.5, then install the 8.5 SP1 updater.
IMPORTANT: You must NOT uninstall your docs!
They are not updated with the SP1 updater, so if you DO you may need to reinstall the documentation from your original CD, as I had to, hehe.

Then you will have the latest 8.5 SP1 Maya unlimited version.

The installer knows which version to install for you based on your license on your machine. (Complete or Unlimited)

Then let us know if this worked for you.

....and for crying out loud, get more ram!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2008, 12:26 AM   #7
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,883
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

thanks ragecgi. Now it makes sense after what you said. I had to do a complete System Recovery on my computer so I had no Maya files at all. Well, I figured it was a good time to just load SP1, but since I didn't have a Maya license or files or anything on my computer (because of the system recover), it must have defaulted to the Complete version.



THANKS FOR STARTING THIS THREAD JOOPSON!
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2008, 12:45 AM   #8
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

No problem
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2008, 05:19 PM   #9
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Im running 2008, and I do need more ram
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank track with ncloth daverave Work In Progress 94 07-01-2011 11:32 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.