SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Animation / Animation / Overriding Key Frames
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-02-2011, 04:02 PM   #1
samehbijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Overriding Key Frames

Hi:

I am transferring from Max to Maya , so i have a problem with Moving key frames in the time line over other key frames , in Max when you drag a key frame over another one it will override the old one and keep only the new key , but in Maya it keeps both keyframes with a tinny gab between them , witch makes a lot of unexpected result in animation and a hard time finding this keys and delete them , is there any option in Maya that i can check to make life easier for me?....

Thax
samehbijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2011, 04:50 PM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

By tiny gap, do you mean that the keys are located on fractions of frames? Like a key sits on 3.723 time? If so, in the timeline settings there's an option to turn on discrete frames (can't remember what it's exactly called) so that keys can only sit on integer times; then you shouldn't have keys separated by tiny gaps and it's easier to see where the keys are. Also, try opening the graph editor and see if that helps you.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2011, 05:16 PM   #3
samehbijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thax Man , But no this didn't do it , you mean Snapping option in the Time Slider settings..
it was checked on before, graph editor was helpful but not the solution .
samehbijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2011, 05:53 PM   #4
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Hmm... not sure what you mean by keeping both keyframes. Are the keys both on the same frame? Can you show a screenshot of the graph editor and/or timeline with both keys?
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One attr key script ColdWave Mel Scripts & Programming 2 06-01-2011 10:12 PM
hot key for Lasso Tool ? iamcreasy Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 23-12-2010 04:01 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.