Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 17-11-2013 , 11:27 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7

Active stereo has been disabled !!

What is this Warning ??, How can I solve it ??

// Warning: file: C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2013/scripts/startup/rememberViewportSettings.mel line 43: Active stereo does not work with Aero enabled. Active stereo has been disabled. //

# 2 17-11-2013 , 06:18 PM
ctbram's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,998
There is no "fix" other then to disable Windows AERO before running Maya. Aero is the transparent look of windows in windows 7 and above.

Unless you are using active stereo it's really a non-issue. There is a command line way to turn aero on and off and for a while I was using a powershell script to stop and start aero when opening and closing maya but stopped using it lately.

Here is a batch script that will toggle aero on and off.

Code:
@echo off
sc interrogate uxsms | find "1062"
if %errorlevel%==0 goto :sc_start
sc stop uxsms
exit
 
:sc_start
sc start uxsms
exit


"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram; 17-11-2013 at 06:22 PM.
# 3 17-11-2013 , 07:07 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7

There is no "fix" other then to disable Windows AERO before running Maya. Aero is the transparent look of windows in windows 7 and above.

Unless you are using active stereo it's really a non-issue. There is a command line way to turn aero on and off and for a while I was using a powershell script to stop and start aero when opening and closing maya but stopped using it lately.

Here is a batch script that will toggle aero on and off.

Code:
@echo off
sc interrogate uxsms | find "1062"
if %errorlevel%==0 goto :sc_start
sc stop uxsms
exit
 
:sc_start
sc start uxsms
exit

Thank you ctbram for replying , but the script didn't work and give me that

// Error: Line 1.1: Syntax error //

I wonder if I ignore it that cause a crush on maya ??

# 4 17-11-2013 , 11:26 PM
ctbram's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,998
Hmmm I am running windows 7 pro. This should work for win 7, I'm not sure about win 8.

Also, you have to run this with adminitrator rights as it stops and starts services. To debug it open an administrative cmd window and try the sc commands manually.

Rick


"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
# 5 17-11-2013 , 11:49 PM
clocker1's Avatar
Bored but busy
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 76
Just adding this is not a maya script but a batch script that you run off you desktop.

# 6 18-11-2013 , 10:44 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7
Sorry , I don't know what batch script is!! ,can you tell me in details how can I do it ?? I'm not good at this stuff , I'm using win 7 ultimate.

# 7 18-11-2013 , 11:03 PM
clocker1's Avatar
Bored but busy
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 76

Sorry , I don't know what batch script is!! ,can you tell me in details how can I do it ?? I'm not good at this stuff , I'm using win 7 ultimate.

Create a new text document on your desktop. Double click the file, copy and paste the script from ctbrams post in it. Now, go to file>save as, and in the “Save As” window, input a name for your BAT file and then add a “.bat” on the end (without the quotes). My file was named testBAT.bat, for instance.




Before hitting save we need make sure that Windows doesn’t stick the standard “.txt” ending on the end of our new file. To do this, change the filetype from “.txt” to “all files” as shown in the screenshot below. That’s it – hit save and close the file.


right click the new file and run as administrator


Last edited by clocker1; 18-11-2013 at 11:18 PM.
# 8 19-11-2013 , 01:25 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7
Yaaaaaa it works , thank you a lot clocker1 user added image user added image user added image user added image

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads