SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Materials & Textures / Duplicating model with switch utilities in the shader network?

Maya Materials & Textures Shaders, Textures & UV Layout

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
03-07-2004, 10:17 PM   #1
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Duplicating model with switch utilities in the shader network?
I ran into a lil' problem. I went through the trouble of converting about 40+ of similar shader networks to one shader which uses the switch utilities to determine which file texture goes with what surface. All is well except for one thing... I can't duplicate the model anymore without loosing the texture assignment info .

Do you guys know of any mel script or some other workaround on how to duplicate the model (preferably as an instance) so that the duplicated surfaces has the same textures than the original ones?

The only way I could think of is to export the model and import it to the scene again but this duplicates the textures, shaders and all which I really don't want...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
  Reply with quote
04-07-2004, 05:40 AM   #2
caligraphics
Registered User
 
caligraphics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billund, Denmark
Posts: 992
Have you tried the Duplicate with connections thing in the Duplicate options ? (im just guessing here, havn't tried it myself)
__________________
Carsten Lind
Senior 3D Artist,
Maya Software Manager & Maya Instructor
LEGO Systems A/S
  Reply with quote
04-07-2004, 01:20 PM   #3
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Ya, tried all the settings in the duplicate options. It just won't update the switch node
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tricky double sided shader problem robchis Lighting & Rendering 1 13-12-2006 09:44 PM
prince of egypt need skin shader , help 3danimationmaya Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 06-09-2006 06:58 PM
stop auto making a shader for Convert to File texture junkyBob Lighting & Rendering 0 25-02-2005 02:31 PM
ramps shader and layered shader tiz Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 12-07-2004 01:35 PM
layered shader help! strobe7 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 7 22-12-2003 04:54 PM