SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Time consuming renders questions

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
17-11-2007, 05:33 AM   #1
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Time consuming renders questions
Hey guys,

Well as some of you may know, i am going to get my new computer sometime this week, so i wanna compare it to my older computer. Anyone wanna share some light with me about, how to totally increase the minutes/hours of renders.

Such as like adding final gather and bumping it up to 100,000 , or have 100,000 photons emitting from light. I wanna try something crazy such as something which would take around 30mins-2hours of rendering time if possible.

Also if you know a place, or would provide me with a big large render file that would be good

Thanks again,

Marlon
  Reply with quote
17-11-2007, 06:05 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Yeah you can have my Gibson Les Paul model and crank up the photons!

Edit or a character with hair, render it in mantal ray single shot and it will crach your PC (as your on 32 bit)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
17-11-2007, 06:36 AM   #3
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
abmient light and crank up the radius and the raytracing
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
  Reply with quote
17-11-2007, 12:03 PM   #4
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
steve, you still got that old heap of a guitar hanging around.., when the hell you going to learn to play it
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
  Reply with quote
18-11-2007, 12:52 PM   #5
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
@ Steve - Yeah i might just try grab it off you once i get the new computer if you don't mind. Also what were them specs, that you rendered it with last time? HOPE it wont crash :p

@ Solomon - Cool, thanks ill add that to my list
  Reply with quote
19-11-2007, 03:39 PM   #6
THX1138
16 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,139
marlonjohn, your not approaching the FG/GI process in a reasonable manner. You shouldn't want to use it for the sake of a long render. I try to avoid long render times as much as possible. But if you must then---- really heavy scenes will increase render times quite a bit. Any high setting will increase a render time. The down side is that an exaggerated setting may cause unnexpected results or a bad quality render. I suggest learning the application better, then compare results with your old PC.

Just my 2 cents mate.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time lapse lighting lilnik Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 03-03-2011 10:43 AM
Theoretical Physics and the Quantum Mind G-Man Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 80 30-05-2010 09:16 PM
Questions on time required to model & animate. animasaurus Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 29-06-2009 09:12 PM
Few Questions for Kurt G-Man Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 14 30-07-2004 08:38 PM
A few newbie questions re: animation basics Kaydray Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 08-07-2004 09:13 PM