SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Lighting & Rendering / Tips for Rendering Large Scene w Mental Ray?

Lighting & Rendering General Lighting, Camera & Rendering Related Topics

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
26-07-2007, 08:28 PM   #1
Andy William
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Tips for Rendering Large Scene w Mental Ray?
Hi All,
Does anybody know a tips or suggestion for rendering large scene w MR?
I tried to render a city scene but don't have a good luck yet .. Most of the objects in the scene are polygon and texture maps (alots of)..also alots of alpha map trees on the poly plane..most of the texture is become BOT already. It can only render if i hide the alpha map tree and some part of the city.
My comp spec is Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 Ghz, 3.5 Gb of RAM and Nvidia Quadro Nvs 485. The light source is only come from MR Physical Sun & Sky.
Thanks before.
  Reply with quote
26-07-2007, 09:42 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Use layers man, lots of em, for the different areas. remember to render with alphas so that it makes it a lot easier to composite into a full scene, that should take away a bit load on your PC.

It might also be best to render using render scripts with a sepperate scene for each part of the scene that way you can just have maya render ing without maya actually being on mental ray will use all the system resource.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
26-07-2007, 10:01 PM   #3
Andy William
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Hi thanks for the reply..
Just wondering..if i do a separate rendering with layers..will it gonna affect the normal result of color bleeding or bounce light for the entire scene since i m using the MR Physical Sun & Sky as my light source?
  Reply with quote
26-07-2007, 10:11 PM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Dont think so as it should calculate the bounce/bleed but only for that one piece of geo, probably best off giving it a test but Ive never had any problems with it, although ive not done a full large CG scene.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rendered mental ray scene files are missing. uzayr34 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 25-09-2013 01:15 AM
Mental Ray crashing scene? JustMcCollum Maya Technical Issues 7 10-05-2013 04:15 PM
What happened to the Mental Ray? SilverFeather Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 10 07-12-2011 12:13 AM
Why Maya? haka Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 21 10-11-2007 11:14 PM
Scene Size Causing Slow mental ray Render Times? Russell Lighting & Rendering 14 31-05-2004 01:44 PM