Beer glass scene creation
This course contains a little bit of everything with modeling, UVing, texturing and dynamics in Maya, as well as compositing multilayered EXR's in Photoshop.
# 1 28-03-2012 , 01:37 PM

Multi patch uv and painting in Mari (or any other 3d painting tool)?

I am trying to understand how multipatch painting works. I started learning Mari painting software. Saw a couple of tutorials on that showing how they paint beyond 0-1 uv space. They import 1 obj into Mari and have multi uv patches for that obj layed beyond 0-1 space. How should i lay my UV patches in Maya to import into painting tool with multi patches?

# 2 30-03-2012 , 12:42 AM
Ok so, done a research on this. If anyone interested; if iyou want to work with one object in Mari with 1 uv map, you have to lay all the UV patches of that obj in 1 map. But if you dont want to get low res textures for your squeezed patches in 0-1 space, you can make another layout and place them in 1-2 space in the same map. If you have alot of patches that needs to get high quality textures just go through 2-3 space with the patches you want. Than you have to import the maps and textures into maya and apply multipatch render workflow. If its ok to share theres one nice tut in here... https://www.digitaltutors.com/11/trai...play=1&vid=513

I am not certain how this will effect shader applying process though... Still thinking about which one will work better. Applying shaders on faces after the texture painting, or making different UV maps for different combined objects and working with multiple objects in Mari. We will see...

# 3 30-03-2012 , 09:06 AM
The Nurb Herd
so if you are applying multiple shaders... what is the point? Also applying to shaders to faces can eventually slow everything down.

# 4 02-04-2012 , 05:18 AM