Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-07-2003, 03:43 AM   #1
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Unhappy help?? please ... anyone

hi fellow mayan; i need some help (of course). its about fur for a human character. when using maya fur, how do i actually choose where i want to place the hair, like on top of the head, because when i create a new fur description, it puts it on the entire surface. i tried reversing normals but it still does not compensate for accurate hair proportion, how can i place the fur accurately on the model's head?
i won't even bother with paint fx, i have discovered that it actually renders much slower than fur given appropriate settings. so please help guys, how can i put the fur where it's supposed to be, like the top of head ***only***, not entire surface. my last resort is to model the hair, which is not so bad, but it's my last option.
thanx in advance.
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2003, 04:28 AM   #2
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

the best way is create a texture file to attach to the baldness of the fur description.

to create the file use the 3d paint brush on the surface anything with no hair paint black.

you must than save the file and than connect it to the baldness by dragging the file from the hypershade to the attribute editor.
make sure you bake after you do this.

This is a bit difficult to understand but give it a try.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2003, 04:42 PM   #3
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

or if you look in the help file..... you can paint the baldness attributes. So you can paint where you want hair and where you dont. Best way is to set the baldness to 0 and flood the surface and then set it to 1 and then carefully paint where you want the hair. Oh this is using the paint fur attributes tool (set to baldness)

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.