SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Create Polygon Tool Issue (NEWB)

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
31-07-2009, 10:34 PM   #1
TheShrike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Create Polygon Tool Issue (NEWB)
Ok this might be so easy but SOMEONE please help me it is driving me crazy.

In Maya how do I get the Create Polygon Tool to stop making the pink mask over the area of the object I am creating. If I am tracing from an image behind it I can't see the image if that damn pink mask keeps showing.

HELP!

-TheShrike
  Reply with quote
01-08-2009, 12:04 AM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
press return... but that seems too easy.

you should only really be making a square shape with the create polygon tool anyway.
  Reply with quote
04-08-2009, 04:09 PM   #3
junkyBob
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 203
TheShrike,
With your image reference, did you create a camera image plane, or did you map your image reference onto a polygonal plane? Eventhough I never used the Create Polygon Tool, what I do, and since for some reason my computer cannot handle camera image planes, I would map my reference onto a polygonal plane, turn on texture view by pressing the 6 key, and then go into the Lambert 1 attributes and bump up the transparancy roughly to about 25%. This allows me to see the image reference as well as being able to see the polygonal mesh I am working.
However, if you are using a camera plane, and I am not too sure if this will work, but you may try viewing that viewport in X-Ray mode. You can activate this by going to the to viewport menu and choosing Shading->X-Ray.
  Reply with quote
19-10-2009, 01:22 PM   #4
voodooHaze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
My way is to simply click the mouse button but do not let go of the mouse button and just drag the new vertex until you can see your reference image again and then move the vertex to the required position and release the mouse button.

Not ideal and may or may not work all the time but that's the simple method I use.

Last edited by voodooHaze; 19-10-2009 at 01:29 PM.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Split Polygon tool issues janeway5 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 01-10-2010 09:06 PM
F9 key... Jo Wand Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 9 24-04-2008 04:28 AM
split polygon tool - help please Binabik Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 18-08-2003 08:41 AM
April Challenge - Strarup - Noobie strarup Previous Challenges (Archives) 33 01-05-2003 11:36 AM
Polygon tool problems Renderizer Maya Modeling 4 16-11-2002 03:47 AM