SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / uv problems

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
Thread Tools
25-11-2003, 05:43 PM   #1
soulcialism
Registered User
 
soulcialism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
uv problems
so i'm trying to uv map this spaceship that i have (to go along with my spaceguy if anyone has seen that thread). i'm having some problems with it though, i'm just confused with the uv layout and how i should be laying out my uv's so i can do the snapshot.

the problem i'm having is the line at the top of the uv window. i have narrowed it down to being the last edges that converge to form the very top vertex of the ship, but i don't know how to lay them out neatly, where they should go, etc. i'm using a cylindrical map for the body of the ship, and then a planar map for the porthole type thing in the center (seen to the right of the ship in the uv window). if anyone has any ideas as to how this should work, i just need a point to start from, something to kick it into my head so i can figure out what to do next. i'm pretty confused by the whole uv thing (even though i've watched several tutorials regarding it).

or, if it looks pretty okay, exportable to photoshop, just say that and i'll save myself some headache, hehe.
  Reply with quote
25-11-2003, 05:47 PM   #2
soulcialism
Registered User
 
soulcialism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
here's the screen shot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uv.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	19.5 KB
ID:	11742  
  Reply with quote
25-11-2003, 08:56 PM   #3
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Looks fine to me.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
  Reply with quote
25-11-2003, 09:37 PM   #4
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
not that dannyngan needs backup.. but looks like a great job with the UV's to me.
  Reply with quote
25-11-2003, 10:30 PM   #5
soulcialism
Registered User
 
soulcialism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
okay then here's another question,
i tried (just for the halibut) to snapshot that uv layout, paint it, and bring it back into maya. i just made a very simple layout, so i could see what happens (like 2 red stripes and white background), then i figured i'd expand on it. when i brought it back into photoshop it got super blurry when i created the shader and chose the uv file as the texture file. i couldn't really do anything to focus it either, resizing and adjusting just seemed to make it worse. is this a common thing? what should i try playing with to fix it?
  Reply with quote
26-11-2003, 02:52 AM   #6
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Why fix it when it isn't broken? :-) I presume it renders ok, have you tried? If you want to increase the resolution in the viewports though, you can. Open the material your using in the attribute editor and scroll down to hardware texture. You can change the texture resolution from there. Though sometimes the default setting works best. Also, still in the attribute editor open the tab for your file texture, under Effects you'll find filter is set to 1, this add's a little blur to the texture with 0 being no blur so set it how you like.
  Reply with quote
26-11-2003, 08:36 PM   #7
soulcialism
Registered User
 
soulcialism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
well i need to fix it because it is broken =)

here's what i did:
-edit polys>texture>cylindrical texture for ship
-edit polys>texture>planar texture for porthole type thing(which is parented to ship & on same layer)
-arranged uv's how they are in my prior screenshots
-uv snapshot
-load in photoshop
-paint texture
-go back into maya, create new shader, load the painted uv as the color map
-assign to ship

and now the map comes up really really small. at first glance i thought it was resolution but after playing with the attribute editor i'm seeing that it's actually just being projected very very small. tried using manipulator for cylindrical map to adjust to fit small texture, but it's too small for me to get any idea how to get it to work. here's what it looks like..



so now i need to figure out how to get the loaded texture to 'blow up' to fit the uv layout and then i can arrange it how it's supposed to be (or maybe it'll just work)

sorry for needing my hand held through all of this, it's just rough stuff when i'm trying to teach myself and the only resources i have are the people on this site, haha.

thanks again.
  Reply with quote
26-11-2003, 09:59 PM   #8
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
I have not seen a texture load like that befor. when you say assine the texute.. just how did you do that part.. I would like a little better brake down of what you did right after you were done with the texture if photo shop..
a nother question.. what is the res of the texture file ? 1028x1028 ?? what ?
  Reply with quote
26-11-2003, 10:57 PM   #9
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally posted by soulcialism
well i need to fix it because it is broken =)
Ok but you only mentioned it was blurry.

Maybe you can zip up your scene file and texture map and someone can take a look for you.
  Reply with quote
26-11-2003, 11:13 PM   #10
soulcialism
Registered User
 
soulcialism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
mrmacca, wasn't trying to be mean, sorry if i sounded like a smartass. i didn't realize that it was broken until today anyway, when i tried your resolution fix in the attribute editor, then i realized that it wasn't the resolution but the texture that was out of whack.

pony, texture resolution is 1024x1024. shader breakdown is this:
created blinn, selected color>map, selected file, chose the file that i painted in photoshop, loaded file, exited attribute editor, middle mouse dragged onto ship, and that's what happened. i didn't do anything else to it. don't have any bump/spec maps, just color for now. has this ever happened to anyone else?

if anyone would like to take a look at it i can zip it and send it to you, but i don't want to waste simplymaya's bandwidth to put it on this thread if no one is going to download it.
__________________
aim: rabidflamingo

Last edited by soulcialism; 26-11-2003 at 11:15 PM.
  Reply with quote
27-11-2003, 12:25 AM   #11
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally posted by soulcialism
mrmacca, wasn't trying to be mean, sorry if i sounded like a smartass. i didn't realize that it was broken until today anyway, when i tried your resolution fix in the attribute editor, then i realized that it wasn't the resolution but the texture that was out of whack.
That's ok and you didn't. You can email it to me and i'll take a look.
  Reply with quote
27-11-2003, 12:48 AM   #12
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
well three posibles hear, while mrmacca takes a look.. 1) the texture file is blured its self. (fix in photoshop). 2) you have filters on.. like right above whare you load the file there is a filter setting. Tern it off, and try that. I don't remember but you never said if it was blury in renders also.. there is a difrence between what you see on screen (limited buy your v-card, and the render, not so limeted) and 3). I would try using a difrent work flow for getting the texture on there.. becouse your screen of the UV map looks way wired.. like there is a problem with it getting the UV map 1 to 1 with the texture.. I would right click on the object its self. assine a new matireal right there.. with that new matireal I would load the texture file in the color channel of that.. insted of makeing a seprat shader and draging it on to the ship.

let me know whats going on.. latter.
  Reply with quote
28-11-2003, 03:48 PM   #13
soulcialism
Registered User
 
soulcialism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
hey pony,
i tried your suggestions but i'm still coming up with the same problems. check out the filter thing - it was set to mipmap (which i've never touched so that might be default?) and the pre-filter bit wasn't checked. tried deleting shader, creating a new one and assigning it before assigning the color map and i still get the same thing.

i did however figure out that the resolution thing changes the size of the texture in the uv window. if i set the hardware texturing to highest, the loaded texture gets really small, but if i set it at default (low) it stays relatively large (still not large enough for what i need.

anyone else have any insight?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_perspshape_tmp.1.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	18.5 KB
ID:	11816  
__________________
aim: rabidflamingo
  Reply with quote
28-11-2003, 04:20 PM   #14
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
that looks pritty good though.. gess your going to want to get closer though huh ?
  Reply with quote
28-11-2003, 04:52 PM   #15
soulcialism
Registered User
 
soulcialism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
well, it's supposed to look like this - with the porthole on the right and then the ship on the left
Attached Images
 
__________________
aim: rabidflamingo
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UV Textures Problems xerradine Maya Technical Issues 1 05-05-2017 11:21 AM
Textures not linking to tutorial maya.... dan003 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 07-03-2015 11:08 PM
Problems with UV mapping (distorted maps) RuhigBrauner Maya Materials & Textures 6 03-04-2014 06:11 AM
UV Mapping problems daytonpa Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 25-07-2013 02:55 AM
UV Mapping Problems BeckyHew Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 24-02-2007 02:55 AM