SimplyMaya

Welcome back to SimplyMaya. Check out our latest training here.

MAYA TUTORIALS
General Lighting, Camera & Rendering Related Topics
 
Thread Tools
# 1 18-05-2014, 05:15 AM
xyl67
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3

mental ray vs maya software renderer

Hi all,

I am a Maya beginner. Here is what I am confused about:
-polygon object with blinn shader, renders fine in mental ray
-next, within the blin shader, I try applying an image file (jpg with b/w and color) on the diffuse slider to map & modulate amount of diffuse

the result shows up in
- viewport 2.0 ( harware texturing on): luminosity is used to modulate diffuse
- maya software renderer: same here
but not in mental ray ( object renders as before and diffuse map is ignored)

What would be the cause of this?
I tried the same with eccentricity and with similar outcome ( ignored in mental ray, ok in maya software)
further I tried with a png image. Here mental ray use the transparency of the image, but ignores luminosity.

Would this be normal, or am i missing some settings?

Many thanks,

Jill

# 2 18-05-2014, 09:37 AM
daverave's Avatar
daverave
The thin red line
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Under the file texture node see in the colour balance if "alpha is luminance" is ticked...........dave




Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
# 3 18-05-2014, 07:13 PM
Gen's Avatar
Gen
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
Can you upload the scene file and texture?


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 4 19-05-2014, 07:40 AM
xyl67
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Hi all,

"alpha is luminance" under color balance in texture node, was or is indeed key to this problem, thank you daverave.

With this option unchecked, mental ray ignores the file ( although it does appear in viewport 2.0 and rendering using Maya Software). This comes as a surprise as my file is a jpg and does not contain any alpha.

Another strange thing is that I cannot recall having switched this option off.
So I checked starting a new scene, created polygon, added blinn and then a texture in the diffuse slider, and yes for every new scene this is unchecked... I am curious if this is the default or did I manage to unknowingly alter my mysterious settings...? (BTW I tried to trash my ..user/documents/maya.. settings but this didn't help. )

Anyhow, I am very happy that this is sorted out so quickly.

Thank you!

Jill

# 5 19-05-2014, 11:03 AM
daverave's Avatar
daverave
The thin red line
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
The default for "alpha is luminance" is off.................dave




Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off