Integrating 3D models with photography
Interested in integrating your 3D work with the real world? This might help
# 1 03-07-2003 , 09:11 PM
Subscriber

pocket watch

I've decided to have a go at making a pocket watch but i'm a complete noobie at texturing and don't know how to make a texture to show all the numbers around the edge. Help plz.

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 03-07-2003 , 11:10 PM
Subscriber

Re: pocket watch

Originally posted by ckyuk
I've decided to have a go at making a pocket watch but i'm a complete noobie at texturing and don't know how to make a texture to show all the numbers around the edge. Help plz.

you mean something like this? if not, i misunderstand the question. oh and dont take this as texture, it is not accurate, only a quick sketch.

Attached Images
# 3 04-07-2003 , 06:43 PM
Subscriber
yeah, i did this one but it didn't work for me.

Attached Images
# 4 04-07-2003 , 06:45 PM
Subscriber
but this happened

Attached Images
# 5 04-07-2003 , 06:55 PM
You can try either of these things:
1) After you apply the textures to your watch, select only the faces on the face of the watch, then apply the texture with the number to those faces only.
2) Apply the texture with the numbers as a stencil, layered on top of the watch texture.
3) Use the UV mapping to ensure you are really placing the texture where you want.

Hope it helps.

Sy
# 6 04-07-2003 , 07:08 PM
Subscriber
That one was done by selecting the top faces so does anyone know a good tutorial on how to apply them as a stencil?

# 7 04-07-2003 , 07:18 PM
Subscriber
Did you map the faces along the right axis? The planar mapping box has the option to map along the 3 different ones.

This site has some very good UV mapping tutorials- the rabbit one should get you going on the basics.

https://www.simplymaya.com/movie_page...html?tut_id=21

There's also a sword one and a monster head one. I found the rabbit most helpful in getting to grips with unwrapping and texturing though.