SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Lighting & Rendering / Our Friend, Global Illumination

Lighting & Rendering General Lighting, Camera & Rendering Related Topics

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
10-09-2002, 03:13 AM   #1
Russell
Registered User
 
Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 370
Our Friend, Global Illumination
Okay... I'm racking my brains here and I wanna know if I'm on the right track. What does everyone on the list use or what technique(s) do you all use to get GI to work in Maya. I know the expensive way to do it is to get Mental Ray. What I found was a MEL script called... well... Global Illumination v1.1 at High End 3D. I'm not sure what to expect with it and I don't even know if I'm doing the right things I need to with it. I need some mentoring here, everyone! For the most helpful answer, I have a cardboard cookie or a plastic porkchop for you... Ooooooooo.... :p

TIA!!!

Russell Bolding
__________________
Russell Bolding
CEO/Founder - Russelltopia Studios
Web:http://www.russelltopia.com
Email:russbo@russelltopia.com
  Reply with quote
10-09-2002, 03:27 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
I use the Sky plug in. It's a Utility that you plug into your material in the hypershade. You map it with an image, usually a panoramic view of some outdoor scene (I'll attach mine). You can get it at highend, too.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
  Reply with quote
10-09-2002, 03:46 AM   #3
Russell
Registered User
 
Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 370
How about if you're lighting an indoor scene? :/
__________________
Russell Bolding
CEO/Founder - Russelltopia Studios
Web:http://www.russelltopia.com
Email:russbo@russelltopia.com
  Reply with quote
10-09-2002, 04:26 AM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Normally, I wouldn't think you'd have global illumination indoors, but it works just as well. I usually use it indoors, too.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
  Reply with quote
10-09-2002, 04:53 AM   #5
Darkon
SM Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
I don't use anything, never had a need

Darkon
__________________
Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
  Reply with quote
10-09-2002, 05:58 AM   #6
ragecgi
Registered User
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
RealFake GI found at Highend3d.com...
Try it.

I use it with the same polar image distortion as mtmckinley said.

Just grab your HDR image, or HDR sequence, or any decent image with decent white and black point vlaues, and map that to RealFakeGI's color or ambient color and you're good to go

Then, connect the Real Fake GI output to your shaders ambient channel

Make sure your lights ONLY cast shadows.
Otherwise, it messes up your overall light intensity.
(though, sometimes it's not a big deal)

Global Illumination is all around us, inside and out.

If you use it when you render spearate passes of specular, diffuse, etc. it comes in REAL handy for that added extra touch of realism
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Final Gather and Global Illumination Dushyant Lighting & Rendering 11 07-10-2011 08:39 PM
global illumination not working tadpole3159 Maya Technical Issues 2 30-12-2007 06:55 PM
global illumination mc-fleury Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 13-11-2005 06:54 PM
Global Illumination being weird dberry Lighting & Rendering 0 13-01-2005 07:09 PM
global illumination Cyrius Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 14 26-01-2003 11:13 PM