Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 13-06-2002 , 09:49 PM

Rendering in Maya

I am just starting out with the Maya PLE. I really like Maya so far. I am getting ready to buy Maya complete in the next week or 2. I was just wondering about one thing. I heard the rendering in Maya isn't very good. Some say it is slow, while others say the quality is just poor. My main goal with Maya is to make photorealistic images. I am not into the animation aspect at this time. I was wondering what the people here use for rendering. The research that I have done for alternatives has lead me to consider either a MayaMan-Entrophy combination or the Mental Ray for Maya plugin. Could somebody set me straight on this? Thanks,DefLep

# 2 13-06-2002 , 11:30 PM
Kevin
well I have used Mental Ray and its fantastic, thats the one I would go for! and your right...the worst thing about maya ..is its renderer! it pretty lame!

but if you got the cash mate them mentals the one imo!

# 3 14-06-2002 , 01:00 AM
SM Alumni
user added image

Now that isn't finished, but that's just the Maya renderer. Just a matter of taking the time to learn it user added image

Darkon

Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
# 4 14-06-2002 , 01:07 AM
Wow. Cool picture. Looks great. If that is considered poor quality, I'll take it. Thanks

Last edited by DefLep; 14-06-2002 at 01:36 AM.
# 5 14-06-2002 , 07:49 AM
Kevin
lol, yep its good, infact very nice, just compared to the rest of the programme the renderer is poor.

render that with mental and then you will see user added image

# 6 14-06-2002 , 06:34 PM
SM Alumni