Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 30-08-2008 , 07:43 AM
Subscriber

Scooby Doo

I haven't posted much of my work here. In fact it has been a very long time since I have posted much of anything. But I hope that the fact that this was a challenge in another website. But I was very pleased on how it had turned out and wanted to share it here as I visited here alot everyday.

I was supposed to make a 3D render of a 2D cartoon character. I had chosen Scooby Doo and used the a picture I had found as reference.

And I had an idea to have Scooby going to a scary movie at a Drive-In (I am Old and remember them!).

The biggest challenge for me was the decals on the van. I am not an artist and can't draw worth S__T! But I came up with an idea that I could model them and render them and use them in my textures. I was pleased on how it turned out.

I have not done any composting till this and did at least 10 or 12 composite layers. I wanted to get the shadowing of the different lights correct.

Hope you like it!! ;-)

2D:
https://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t.../ScoobyVan.jpg

3D (My finished version):
https://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t...ster_Scene.jpg

P.S. I have had some wine and hope this post works ok!! ;-)

Challenge me and I will try. Because If I should fail, failure also has a prize (Knowledge).

Last edited by oldhippie_tom; 30-08-2008 at 07:47 AM.
# 2 30-08-2008 , 07:51 AM
ha ha - nice job mate - i like this a lot - a few textures look a little bright and colorful, but given this is based on a cartoon, i don't necessarily think that's a bad thing.

the van maybe looks a little small and i think it would be nice to add more variation to the spec map as it's looking a bit shiny all over.

but overall this is great - i like it a lot - let's see some more images of the van please!

enjoy your wine. user added image