SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Daily DUMBO Maya questions thread_____

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
Thread Tools
14-07-2003, 09:27 AM   #1
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Daily DUMBO Maya questions thread_____
OK new thread. Basically I will ask a new question everyday. You good folks will answer the questions. This is my thread and only I am allowed to ask questions:-)
I am the KING_DUMBO on this thread.
So this thread will be helpfull to all the dumbos of this world.

Then one day we shall rise and creat a DUMBO_LAND.

Question of the day-

I see people have like a window with lot of boxes inside it. If they move there mouse on top of one of these boxes then the eye of there charecter opens/closes, move the mouse on top of the next box the charecter smiles.....you get the picture. It's like a switch box. How do they set all these expressions on there charecters face?

Is it done by using deformers/Lattice????

Last edited by slickrenderer; 14-07-2003 at 09:56 AM.
  Reply with quote
14-07-2003, 09:33 AM   #2
d24e
Subscriber
 
d24e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 357
a window in Maya or some program?

I believe the animation is done by morphing and setting keyframes. once did a tutorial on it, but can't fully remember.
I'm sure Mike can explain this to you perfectly.
__________________
<a href="http://www.d2lodshop.com" target="blank">D2lodshop</a>
<a href="http://www.gatcity.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3" target="blank">GAT City</a>
<a href="http://www.rhymbox.com" target="blank">XMPP instant messaging</a>
  Reply with quote
14-07-2003, 09:58 AM   #3
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Well I have ne^ver seen this window in Maya. Then again I haven't seen all the windows :-)

Yes it could have been keyframed etc but they had like a place where they had control of all these movements setup.
__________________
grrrr
  Reply with quote
14-07-2003, 10:01 AM   #4
d24e
Subscriber
 
d24e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 357
where have you seen this?

Could it be something they programmed themselves, but not a part of Maya?
__________________
<a href="http://www.d2lodshop.com" target="blank">D2lodshop</a>
<a href="http://www.gatcity.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3" target="blank">GAT City</a>
<a href="http://www.rhymbox.com" target="blank">XMPP instant messaging</a>
  Reply with quote
14-07-2003, 01:06 PM   #5
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
OK i will mail a link when i get home of someones demo reel and I think I saw something similar in it.
__________________
grrrr
  Reply with quote
14-07-2003, 01:40 PM   #6
Vampus
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Sounds like something you see on behind the scenes clips of animation. They have a face setup, and a bunch of pull bars. They move the pull bars and it displays preset facial expressions.
  Reply with quote
14-07-2003, 02:32 PM   #7
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Vampus that sounds about right. How do they set it up? Is it part of Maya or do they programme it?
__________________
grrrr
  Reply with quote
14-07-2003, 02:59 PM   #8
ragecgi
Registered User
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Check the docs for "BLEND SHAPES"
VERY good, and helpfull read!

What Maya does is takes your blends and original target object, and creates a "slider bar" menu automaticly with object names as lables so you can adjust and key blend shapes for facial expressions, lip syching, etc. via a simple slider interface.

...or am I not allowed to answer? hehe...

If mods aren't allowed to answer, lemme know, cause I'll stay away No biggie.

Cool thread!

[EDIT] Also, there is NO programming required for Maya to automaticly create this slider gui for you!

You can, I'm sure do some mel connections after the fact, but that's over my head, as I don't specialize in Char. setup

Good question to ask in the animation thread tho!

PS, there are a bunch of scripts and plugins out there that allow you to use a pic of your character as well insted of sliders if that bit of visual help makes it easier for you to animate... just fyi
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
  Reply with quote
14-07-2003, 03:24 PM   #9
artkast
Registered User
 
artkast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
You might want to try aniMan. This is allows you to setup your models easier. Not sure about the window thing though.
  Reply with quote
14-07-2003, 05:47 PM   #10
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Just don't make this a tip page
  Reply with quote
14-07-2003, 06:09 PM   #11
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
I dug around and it's called MORPH CONTROLS.

__________________
grrrr

Last edited by slickrenderer; 14-07-2003 at 06:20 PM.
  Reply with quote
14-07-2003, 06:20 PM   #12
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
rage will check thanks.
__________________
grrrr
  Reply with quote
14-07-2003, 11:20 PM   #13
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
After creating blend shapes, you can animate them using the Blend Shape Controls found in Window > Animation Editors > Blend Shape.

__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
  Reply with quote
15-07-2003, 04:37 AM   #14
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Interesting....mtmckinley
to the rescue:-)
__________________
grrrr
  Reply with quote
15-07-2003, 06:58 AM   #15
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
*****Todays Question*****

Part1- What is CPS modelling and why do you need to use this method?

Part2- What other medthod can achieve the same result?

P.S- I might or I might not know the answer to all the questions I ask. As the KING DUMBO it is my responsibility to represent my DUMB public. These questions are purely for dumb publics mental Maya health....whatever that means brbb!!
__________________
grrrr
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issues for max to maya users bertvaneeckhout Maya Modeling 23 25-09-2014 09:36 PM
Some questions re learning Maya gubar Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 13 04-07-2007 06:46 PM
A couple of Maya questions msm_zgok Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 30-10-2005 03:18 PM
some simple questions about maya danotronXX Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 26-08-2005 12:06 AM
questions about game design/setting up maya vion Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 7 02-01-2005 07:11 PM