SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / Border Edges within poly mesh

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
06-02-2013, 04:35 PM   #1
FeRoAn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Border Edges within poly mesh
Hey!

I've just started working with maya a few days ago and stumbled upon this problem:

After extruding a lot of edges and then connecting the vertices I realised that the border edges weren't adapting...

Now I have a few border edges running within my mesh, which creates a lot of weird geometry.

Do you know how I can change those border edges into "normal" edges? Or how I can avoid this error. Because I tried it out a few times, and the error keeps happening...

Thank you!
  Reply with quote
06-02-2013, 04:41 PM   #2
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Have you got edit mesh "keep faces together" tick if not that is most likely your problem...........dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
06-02-2013, 09:04 PM   #3
FeRoAn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks for the reply, but I do have the keep faces together tick on... :S
  Reply with quote
06-02-2013, 09:20 PM   #4
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Could you show a picture......................dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
07-02-2013, 04:50 PM   #5
FeRoAn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
The first screenshot shows you which edge is seen as a border edge and in the second one you can see how it affects the mesh in smooth preview...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	maya1.png
Views:	612
Size:	71.2 KB
ID:	53343   Click image for larger version

Name:	maya2.png
Views:	608
Size:	122.3 KB
ID:	53344  
  Reply with quote
07-02-2013, 05:26 PM   #6
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Try lasso selecting the edges and doing a merge.
  Reply with quote
07-02-2013, 10:44 PM   #7
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
you might also check to see if you have inadvertently created bad geometry. select mesh>clean and then check repair, non-manifold, edges with zero length, and faces with zero area.

This might get rid of extra geometry precenting you from being able to merge verts.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mesh a skeleton made out of edges fartagaintuxedo Maya Modeling 3 20-01-2016 08:48 AM
trouble opening maya scene jooleyinboots Maya Technical Issues 2 03-02-2014 09:11 PM
Mesh has an unwanted "second body" Tristanartform Maya Technical Issues 7 26-10-2007 10:29 PM
Border Edges AikoWorld Animation 2 21-02-2006 09:23 PM
Merging Edges (Poly) technel Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 16 25-09-2005 01:17 AM