SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Dynamics & Special Effects / Growing Grass ...

Dynamics & Special Effects Maya Particles, nDynamics, Fluids, Rigid Bodies & General VFX

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
25-07-2011, 09:11 PM   #1
mtcgs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 124
Growing Grass ...
How do I confine growing grass to stay within an object (like a box) so that it doesn’t penetrate through the sides?
  Reply with quote
25-07-2011, 10:26 PM   #2
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
How are you making the grass.........dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
26-07-2011, 12:38 AM   #3
mtcgs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 124
Grass...
I,m replying from home, but I believe I used the grass preset from the "Fur" shelf. Then I used the "Convert paint effects to polygons" from the "Convert" menu. I'm trying to get grass to grow up through a box that has an eight bin grid. It grows up just fine but the grass blades pertrude through the sides. Using the active/passive rigid body dynamics workflow doesn't seem to be working. Although I may have missed something there. Don't think so though.
  Reply with quote
26-07-2011, 09:20 AM   #4
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Make sure the grass is not sticking into the box mesh at the start of the animation also if you are scaling the grass to animate change the position of the scale tool to the bottom of the mesh(insert key)..........dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
26-07-2011, 05:08 PM   #5
mtcgs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 124
Grass ...
This has really got me stumped. Searched everywhere for some sort of tutorial or answer and come up short. You're actually the ONLY response i've gotten (which I truly appreciate) form any of the sites I've posted on. Lots of typical "Growing Grass" tutorials but nothing relating to this. It actually just boils down to getting grass ( either Furs "Grass" preset or using Paint Effects) to act as a Active Rigid Body and the container to act as a Passive Rigid Body ... so as not to have the grass penetrate through the containers sides. Any thoughts? I'm at my wits end here. Maybe I'm approaching this the wrong way. Funny this has never come up before.
  Reply with quote
26-07-2011, 05:51 PM   #6
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
maybe a screen shot or two would help better explain the problem, but in the meantime have you tried playing around with the tolerance on the rigid solver?
  Reply with quote
26-07-2011, 05:59 PM   #7
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
I will try as much as I can to help, try smooth x 2 the box (add polys).How are you getting them to grow......dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
26-07-2011, 07:37 PM   #8
mtcgs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 124
Grass ...
First off ... thanks Daverave and Honestdom. The problem I'm running into is that Maya wants the grass to be either a Poly or Nurbs object in order to be able to act as a Active Rigid Body. Doing that conversion causes all sorts of geometry error messages when trying to apply the rigid body solvers to the converted polys. Thus unable to use apply the Active Rigid Body on the geometry. What about making (if possible) the grass a Soft Body? Would that be of any use to me. I just want the black plastic container to confine the grass within its interior and not penetrate through the walls. Check the grab I've supplied. Maybe that sheds a little light on my problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Grass_Grab.jpg
Views:	378
Size:	115.5 KB
ID:	48025  
  Reply with quote
26-07-2011, 08:20 PM   #9
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Have a look at this it uses maya hair to control fur grass, maya hair should work.............dave

http://zabador.free.fr/maya/grass/grass.html
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
26-07-2011, 08:31 PM   #10
mtcgs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 124
Grass ...
I have seen that particular tutorial, but it doesn't solve my penetration problem. Creating the grass and animating it has never been the issue. I need to figure out a way of containing the grass within the box.
  Reply with quote
26-07-2011, 08:35 PM   #11
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
maya hair has it built into it constrains......dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
26-07-2011, 09:04 PM   #12
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
did you try either of the suggestions?
  Reply with quote
26-07-2011, 09:54 PM   #13
mtcgs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 124
Grass ...
I got pulled onto another project temporarily. If I don't get to this tonight I'll try it first thing Wednesday.
Thanks for all the input so far. I'll post the results of your suggestions asap. I've noted your help with my production people here. Thanks.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grass SilverBlood Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 22-02-2013 04:51 PM
how to add grass ColdWave Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 11-02-2007 03:54 AM
Controlling Grass fleximoronx Maya Materials & Textures 32 27-09-2006 04:12 PM
Grass in the wind!!! ade90054 Dynamics & Special Effects 5 05-09-2005 05:42 PM
CG grass. Any possible ways to do it? Darkware Dynamics & Special Effects 10 24-12-2003 02:38 AM