SimplyMaya

Welcome back to SimplyMaya. Check out our latest training here.

MAYA TUTORIALS
Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.
 
Thread Tools
# 1 09-09-2004, 11:35 PM
Velusion's Avatar
Velusion
Registered User
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 369

Transferring UVs

I don't know if this is basic or not but here's what I'm trying to do:

I have 2 copies of the same polygon model. One of them has good UV mapping that I used to make maps in Photoshop. The other copy has default UVs. I want to copy the UVs from the first copy to the second. I'm running Maya 5. The books I have say that I can select the first copy then select the second copy then simply use the transfer command to transfer the UVs. I can not find any reference to a "transfer" command. Does anyone know how to transfer UVs from one poly model to another (assuming they have the same topology). Thanks!

By the way, the object that has the default UVs has been rigged to a complete model and is part of a character set. This might complicate things.

# 2 09-09-2004, 11:57 PM
NextDesign's Avatar
NextDesign
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 3 10-09-2004, 02:02 AM
Velusion's Avatar
Velusion
Registered User
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 369
Thank you Peltra

# 4 10-09-2004, 04:27 PM
Velusion's Avatar
Velusion
Registered User
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 369
Actually, that tutorial didn't help but I found the answer I was looking for somewhere else. Here is the command to transfer UVs from the 1st selected poly model to the second selected poly model (remember, both models have to have the same topology):

type in: performPolyTransfer 0;

# 5 10-09-2004, 05:23 PM
mtmckinley's Avatar
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Polygons > Transfer

Make sure UVs are set in the options.

Not sure what tutorial Peltra was referring to?

# 6 11-09-2004, 01:56 AM
Velusion's Avatar
Velusion
Registered User
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 369
polygons> transfer

Oh man! I must have looked at that dropdown menu a dozen times and didn't see it.... Well, I guess it's time to get a pair of glasses.

Thanks!

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off