Beer glass scene creation
This course contains a little bit of everything with modeling, UVing, texturing and dynamics in Maya, as well as compositing multilayered EXR's in Photoshop.
# 1 03-12-2013 , 02:30 PM

How is it even possible in Maya to simply close a curve/cap a curve?

Firstly, I was following a tutorial to catch up on my modelling skills (since im an animator) however, when I got to the point where I make a planar surface to cap the end of this object... It appeared until I wanted to start reshaping it after, hopeing it would simply follow the adjustments, and now I cannot see any planar surfaces there as it turned invisible.

I don't like this method, because it's not a flat cap, and it would need a more complicated shape as you can see from the image to close up nicely. I've searched all day online, but there is actually nothing on how to close a nurbs curve into a surface?

Im almost certain it should be as straight forwards as selecting a closed curve like in this image, and choosing close curve or create surface from curve??? This step would be very simpe in 3d Max, but how is this done in Maya please? user added image Thankyou.user added image

https://s1184.photobucket.com/user/uk...80aef.png.html

Last edited by dudechester; 03-12-2013 at 02:36 PM.
# 2 03-12-2013 , 06:32 PM

Im almost certain it should be as straight forwards as selecting a closed curve like in this image, and choosing close curve or create surface from curve???

Ummm NO it's not!

1st when you said created a "cap" did you mean a "planar" surface? If so that is why it disappears. A planar cap is just what its name implies - it's planar. As soon as you move a vert off plan the surface will become invalid.

This step would be very simpe in 3d Max, but how is this done in Maya please?

Really? Please demonstrate for us.