Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 1
This course will look at the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. We'll look at what makes a good model in Maya and why objects are modeled in the way they are.
# 1 23-10-2013 , 05:35 PM

Adding details to model without enough polygons?

So i got this model, im not sure if i can call it a low polygon model, thats not really what i'm aiming for. but the polygons are way to big for me to get into theese small details like the gaps (where the diffrent part of the car is, for example the hood, or the door-gaps). And my question is, how can i do this the most effective and smart way, without getting tons of polygons everywhere.

im thinking

1. Smoothing the mesh out and getting that detail there
problem: too many polygons around the model

2. Painting in mudbox
problem: too many polygons

3. Displacement at the material
problem: i have never done this before except for in Cinema 4d, and there's a big risk of messing up. I got no clue how to do this

4. Creating a mesh that indicates theese gaps, and use this mesh as a boolean difference
problem: topology problem, hard edges (?)

Right now i kinda feel like going for option 4. But i dont know, what do you guys think i should do?

Rendered model with lights + AO set up:

user added image

Wireframe:

user added image

Reference (side):

user added image

Thanks

Skalman

20 year old guy from Sweden

Big Bob Marley fan
Love skateboarding
Maya, Mudbox and Photoshop user

Full name: Marcus Ralman

https://www.facebook.com/MarcusRalman3D

^ My facebook page ^
# 2 23-10-2013 , 08:25 PM
I think what they do is break it into parts. For the door, select the faces you want and extract.

There is a tutorial on YouTube where a guy makes a mini.

Displacement maps are easy.
Graph your material in hypershade - select the very first node, and plug a file in its disp slot.