SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Modeling / nonmanifold edges on sub-d proxy

Maya Modeling Everything on Modeling Techniques and Tools - NURBS, Polygons and Subdivisions Related in this Section.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
14-12-2003, 06:27 AM   #1
-<{ JB }>-
Subscriber
 
-<{ JB }>-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 510
nonmanifold edges on sub-d proxy
HI,
I'm modelling a Porsche 959 in Sub-d's. I modelled only 1 half of the body and used an instanced copy for the other half while I modelled. Now I've finished the body and I want to merge the 2 halves together (I've replaced the instanced copy with a mirror for the merge). I can attatch the 2 Sub-d objects together, but when I switch to poly proxy mode again and try to merge the verts it says that it can't because the edges are nonmanifold.

So, this all creates a few questions...
1) How do people normally merge 2 sub-d objects?
2) What does nonmanifold mean and how can I avoid it in the future?
3) How should I fix my problem?

I'd rather not convert to low-poly, merge, then convert back to sub-d because I'll have to make all my edge creases and tweaks again. But if this is what needs to be done then I guess I'll have to do it.

thanx
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image2.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	53.5 KB
ID:	12086  
__________________
Take a glance at my <a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9428"><b>Porsche 959</b></a> WIP
  Reply with quote
14-12-2003, 10:27 PM   #2
Elemenopee
Subscriber
 
Elemenopee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 57
not sure if there would be a loss of quality or not...but

you could try converting it from sub d to polygon then merging verts...then reconvert to subd forgoing polygon proxy mode

i'm not sure if it would mess with the geometry when converting back to subd...but it is worth a shot imo
  Reply with quote
15-12-2003, 03:36 AM   #3
-<{ JB }>-
Subscriber
 
-<{ JB }>-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 510
I have done some experimentation with that, Elemenopee, but like I said before I'd prefer to find an alternative method (if there is one) because I don't want to have to redo my tweaks.

If you do the conversions properly (ie. so the poly mesh is identical to the poly proxy) the resulting sub-d mesh after the process theoretically should turn out exactly the way it was before (but merged of course).... but when I tried this it lost most of the creases i had made and then randomly and assymmetrically added creases in other places!

Unfortunately my 3 questions still remain.
__________________
Take a glance at my <a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9428"><b>Porsche 959</b></a> WIP
  Reply with quote
15-12-2003, 09:58 PM   #4
train_ucl
user title spammer
 
train_ucl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 195
easy solution:

step 1 (dont know by the way if its really required).
use Subdiv - > mirror instead of simple duplicate & mirror

step 2 attach the two suDs (subdiv-> attach)

step 3 go into polygon mode select the verts (all edge-verts on or simply just select all verts and use the "merge vertices" with a distance setting of around 0,001 at this stage the SubD might disappear, dont care about it

step 4 select the polygon grid of the SubD and polygon->cleanup (all settings UNchecked, except the non-manifold settings), execute it

now the subD surface should re-appear and you should be happy with it.
  Reply with quote
15-12-2003, 10:00 PM   #5
train_ucl
user title spammer
 
train_ucl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 195
your question 2:
nonmanifold means something like incompatible edges ... like one normal pointing up the next one pointing down and you try to merge those edges ... there is a good discription in the maya-help, just look for nonmanifold

you canīt avoid it in all cases ... but with the cleanup command you donīt need to care about it ...

what i forgot: merge the edges afterwards as well ...
  Reply with quote
16-12-2003, 04:51 AM   #6
-<{ JB }>-
Subscriber
 
-<{ JB }>-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 510
Thanks!!

It wasn't exactly the solution, but I ran the cleanup operation several times on faces/edges/verts and that seems to have fixed the nonmanifold problem and let me merge.
__________________
Take a glance at my <a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9428"><b>Porsche 959</b></a> WIP
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard Edges and Even spacing of Meshes MangaManiac Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 12 13-11-2010 01:49 AM
Nonmanifold jhubbard Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 9 08-01-2006 09:50 AM
Merging Edges (Poly) technel Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 16 25-09-2005 01:17 AM
nonmanifold edges urvinism Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 26-02-2005 08:18 PM
Removing subd edges while in polygon proxy mode cb8rwh Maya Modeling 0 12-01-2003 11:57 PM