Beer glass scene creation
This course contains a little bit of everything with modeling, UVing, texturing and dynamics in Maya, as well as compositing multilayered EXR's in Photoshop.
# 1 07-01-2014 , 07:20 PM
Plugin Developer

Mootzoid: introducing myself + upcoming plugins for Maya (emPolygonizer4 + emReader)

Hello Maya community!

My name is Eric Mootz a.k.a. Mootzoid. I am a plugin developer who - until just recently - has been coding plugins for Softimage exclusively. End of last year I started looking into the Maya SDK (which is quite excellent, by the way) and started porting two of my plugins to Maya: emPolygonizer4, a particle and object mesher, and emReader, a geometry cache file sequence reader.
Tomorrow is a big and exciting day for me, because I will release the first betas of both plugins,
my very first "mega-official" plugins for Maya! user added image

And just to prove that all my above bla-bla is not just empty words:
below is a screenshot from my little working scene. It shows an emPolygonizer4 mesh with UVs in the perspective view, in the Attribute Editor you can see some of the emP4 node parameters and in the Node Editor you can see how things are connected.
Regarding the two upcoming plugins you can find more information about what they do here on my web site:
emPolygonizer4 web page
emReader web page

I will post again here tomorrow as soon as the plugins are released and the video tutorials are uploaded.

Cheers!
Eric.

user added image

Last edited by Mootzoid; 07-01-2014 at 07:38 PM.
# 2 07-01-2014 , 11:53 PM
Technical Director
Hi Eric.

I'm curious, what is the advantage of using your emReader over something like Alembic?

Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 3 08-01-2014 , 03:56 AM
SM Tea Boy
I was also wondering about that.

Welcome to SimplyMaya btw
Dave user added image