SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Robot arms

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
18-09-2010, 12:30 PM   #1
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Robot arms
Hi,

I want to animate a simple robot type figure. I did some tutorials and animate some flesh like characters. But a robot is obviously diffrent because the parts don't tend to bend like flesh and skin does. So maybe using bones is not the best way to go? I used spheres as joints and they are all lose parts. For the hands i wil be using bones because they may flex. But the upper and lower arm are to remain stiff.

What is the best way to go at this or is there a tutorial out there that covers robot rigging?




  Reply with quote
18-09-2010, 04:18 PM   #2
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
I did something similar like this a while back as a test rig and its quiet easy actually. It relies on the same principle.

Instead of binding the skin to the bones, open your outliner and drag and drop your objects you have made onto the section of bones allocated.
  Reply with quote
18-09-2010, 08:37 PM   #3
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Just to clarify what marlonjohn is saying, you're parenting the geometry to the bones, instead of skinning. The other way of doing this if you don't want to change the hierarchy is to use a parent constraint, which simulates parenting.
  Reply with quote
19-09-2010, 08:50 PM   #4
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
This week i got some time to spare see how far i get.

Thanks guys.
  Reply with quote
20-09-2010, 12:26 AM   #5
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
if you need an example there is a tutorial that comes with maya to do with rigging a robot arm
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
  Reply with quote
20-09-2010, 03:54 PM   #6
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
hmmm....

Somehow i can't connect to the tutorial page via the Help -> Tutorials button. I have maya 2010 64bit. Is there an other way of getting this tutorial?
  Reply with quote
20-09-2010, 04:06 PM   #7
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Does the rest of your help work? The tutorials are in the documentation. Did you install it?
  Reply with quote
20-09-2010, 06:21 PM   #8
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
The rest of the help is not working either. This probaly means I didn't install it. I will search the disc for it. Thanks for the help so far guys.
  Reply with quote
23-09-2010, 06:46 PM   #9
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Thanks for the feedback. I used bones but instead of bindingskin I parented the joints to the objects. So far so good.

Cheers
  Reply with quote
04-10-2010, 07:16 PM   #10
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
I am going apesh*t here. :headbang:

I have my character completly rigged and ready for animation.


But as soon as I touch the time slider to go to another frame the some parts of the model pop out. In this case the Index and pinky finger move way up and the head drops down a little.


Does anyone have any idear what I did wrong?

Edit:

I figured out the fingers. During the rigging I think I set some sort of key on the index en pinky.

I used break connection on the translate and scale. I did nothing to the Rotates because i got a setdriven key on it for a fingercurl. But normaly it is not yellow but orange. But at least now it stays put. I still cant figure out why the skull drops down.

Last edited by Johndoe050; 04-10-2010 at 07:45 PM.
  Reply with quote
04-10-2010, 07:47 PM   #11
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Have you tried freezing transformation and delete history before you start rigging, I notice you have locators are these used for constaints...............dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
04-10-2010, 08:07 PM   #12
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally posted by daverave
Have you tried freezing transformation and delete history before you start rigging, I notice you have locators are these used for constaints...............dave
I tried to be consistant with the freeze transformation and delete history with the model. But i might have been a little bit sloppy with the bones.

The locators are for the hand controls.
  Reply with quote
06-10-2010, 12:48 PM   #13
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
I had to learn the hard way. Never ever ever forget to clean up your model. I forgot to freeze transform on the head and it had a long list of history on it. I fixed it and now I am ready for animation. Thanks guys.

Screens


Arrgggh
  Reply with quote
06-10-2010, 07:58 PM   #14
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
haha, it's angry like you
good to see you resolved your issues
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rigging a robot. How to exactly? n3mes1s Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 09-01-2017 02:21 PM
PLease HELP! robot rigging naotoerg Animation 0 25-01-2012 04:31 PM
Ware house Ruff Work In Progress 25 05-10-2008 04:40 AM
Need a industrial robot pulp2310 Maya Modeling 2 10-03-2005 10:51 AM
ghetto robot Turbo Dan Work In Progress 2 08-12-2004 04:22 AM