SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / HumanIK Animation problem in maya.

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
08-09-2013, 09:36 PM   #1
eman72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
HumanIK Animation problem in maya.
Hey guys I posted this in the animation thread but this seems to be a better place for it.


I have been learning how to work with Maya 2013 myself through youtube tutorials and Google. I am stuck with the HumanIK tool while trying to animate my model. I have a Biped model that is rigged and weighted properly. I just started messing around with the HumanIK because of the built in control curves it places on the skeleton.

The problem I am having is with the keyframes. I canít really think of a way to explain it in question form so Iíll just give an explanation of what is happening. I have a 24 frame test animation. On frame 1 and 24 I have the model standing. On frame 12 I have the model translate down on the y axis a bit, so it will return to the starting position on frame 24. I then add something simple such as moving the arm to the side on frame 18. The problem is that the arm doesn't start moving on frame 1 - 18 Ė 24, it starts on frame 12 - 18 - 24. It seems on the timeline that when I set a keyframe the whole rig gets set instead of the control I have selected. This problem is really messing me up when I am trying to animate something more complex.

Any ideas on how to fix this problem?
  Reply with quote
09-09-2013, 01:13 AM   #2
MrYeti
Lifetime Member
 
MrYeti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Down Under
Posts: 245
Hi eman72, I'm still a beginner when it comes to animation but it sounds like you might have the auto keyframe option turned on. (Button with a key located in the bottom right hand corner turns red when auto is on.)

If this is the case then click it off and key select only the controls you want to move.
__________________
Cheers, the Yeti.
  Reply with quote
09-09-2013, 05:04 PM   #3
eman72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
It seems that the problem was with the HIK controllers themselves. You can toggle between full body, part body, and selection. I was unaware of this. When full body is selected and you set a keyframe, it keys everything in the skeleton chain. Clicking on body part allowed me to just keyframe the parts i wanted. Finding that out fixed the problem!
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya to Nuke: A Render Problem Cybrex Lighting & Rendering 0 26-01-2017 05:26 PM
Maya 2016 problem - White seams along UVs roccofx Maya Technical Issues 0 16-06-2016 07:37 AM
Issues for max to maya users bertvaneeckhout Maya Modeling 23 25-09-2014 09:36 PM
Maya 2013 problem when starting: Menu set update NecroNinja34 Maya Technical Issues 2 29-01-2013 08:35 AM
Maya Lag problem!! thatsmybrand Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 13-04-2009 11:51 AM