Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 07-12-2014 , 05:57 AM

Tiling problem with UV textures

Hi folks, I’m relatively new to Maya (2015) and learning as I go. I created UVs in Maya for a human model and placed the head on a second UV tile for greater detail (body parts in the U0-1/V0-1 tile and head in the U1-2/V0-1) tile). Then painted the UVs in Photoshop and assigned them. Sadly, Maya is constraining the textures to the U0-1/V0-1 tile only, so the textures are exactly half the size of the actual UV set. Is there a fix or am I just SOL? Thanks for any help.

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 07-12-2014 , 02:31 PM
Super Moderator
In Maya 2015 there is the "Uv tiling mode" dropdown in the file texture's attribute editor, check that out. Without access to that, editing the file texture's placement node is your next option and it is a bit more convoluted.

The texture placement node's "translate frame" attributes will have to reflect your tile's coordinates on the grid, the default tile is of course 0,0. Your head tile would be at 1,0. Uncheck the wrap U and wrap V options or the texture will repeat unto the other tiles. At this point you'll probably see a lot of gray areas on your model. Take note of the "default color" channel under the color balance section of your file texture, it's responsible for that drab grey that's overtaken your model in the absence of texture information. So the file texture for the subsequent tile should simply be dragged and drop onto this channel to basically fill it in. Then it's a matter of rinsing and repeating with the appropriate translate frame values for all other file textures, each one being plugged into the default color channel of the one before. Aaaand this is why people throw their hands up and learn scripting.

- Genny
# 3 07-12-2014 , 05:58 PM

Thank you