SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / vertices selected with edges and faces

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
11-08-2009, 04:43 AM   #1
hotpotato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
vertices selected with edges and faces
hi

i am a relative newbie to maya as i have been studying for college but i am having a problem which is making it very difficult to do much.

ok so my problem is i am modelling a character for an assignment i leave the computer for a while come back and a weird error or something has happened which means that when i select an edge or face their vertices will also be selcted as will those of its symetrical edge/ face.

does anyone know how to fix this i have tried restarting and re-installing but nothing has worked.

i am running on xp

thanks
  Reply with quote
11-08-2009, 03:26 PM   #2
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,515
Without a screenshot I can only guess, but it seems like you turned on soft selection and also reflection, open up the tool settings for any of your transformation tools (move, scale whatever) and uncheck those options.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
12-08-2009, 01:49 AM   #3
hotpotato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
thanks for your help

here is a screenshot
Attached Files
File Type: zip selction_problem.zip (208.5 KB, 78 views)
  Reply with quote
12-08-2009, 06:58 AM   #4
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,515
As I thought, you did turn on reflection on your selection/transform tools. Also you can upload an image here as long as its under 200kb or you can use a free image hosting site like imageshack or photobucket. Most people I think shy away from downloading random zip files especially when its just to see a screenshot ><
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
12-08-2009, 07:54 AM   #5
hotpotato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
ok thanks turned out i turned on reflection somehow but it is fixed now so i'm not worrying

your tip on the zip files in duely noted

thanks again :bow:
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
why have faces of 4 edges only? Chirone Simply Maya Tutorials 3 26-12-2007 11:33 PM
selected faces do not hi_lite eastkootenayboy2 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 12-05-2007 10:17 PM
extra faces on edges after extruding the_brein Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 26-03-2007 06:30 PM
Selecting faces enclosed by edges parka Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 01-11-2006 07:32 AM
HIDEING SELECTED FACES munny Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 22-12-2005 11:22 AM