Welcome to the SimplyMaya community

Welcome back to SimplyMaya.

Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
# 1 30-12-2015, 07:08 PM
meywue
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 2

How to bind a key to 'Tool Settings -> Transform Constraint -> Surface'?

Hey guys,

I'm using Maya 2016 and frequently using the option I mentioned above to slide vertices across my meshes. Is it possible to bind this tool to a key (maybe via MEL script or something else)?
I can't find the command in the 'Hotkey Editor'

Thanky you in advance!

# 2 31-12-2015, 09:14 AM
Gen's Avatar
Gen
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
If you turn on Echo all commands in the script editor you can grab the command names from the read out after performing the relevant tasks. Which in this case is the dR_slideSurface and dR_slideOff. The problem is that these commands seem to be intentionally buried and documentation is hard to find. They are in the Hotkey Editor under "Other Items" under the modeling toolkit section but since the commands are so buried and undocumented (and separate), getting a toggle effect would be difficult.

I whipped up something that allows you to cycle through the three modes, put it in your user scripts folder. In your hotkey editor, create a custom command and enter this line into the script area:
Code:
gen_cycleTransformConstraint;
Assign your hotkey to that as normal.

Happy New Year

Download


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 3 31-12-2015, 03:53 PM
meywue
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 2
Thank you very very much, Genny, it's perfect!

And Happy New Year as well!!

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off