Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 22-09-2011 , 06:31 AM

Quad Hind leg rigging = grr for beginners

Hey guys, I'm gonna give a little backdrop to my issue to get the best response possible, so I apologize in advance if I seem a little long-winded. I'm basically a beginner, or rather I used to animate with maya many years ago (2003). I left the 3D game (heh, see what I did there?) for awhile, and now I've found myself suddenly back into it, helping with a big indie game project, armed to the teeth with... outdated, obsolete, VERY rusty knowledge. The short version... I'm a beginner again. :O

So rigging. I've been assigned to rig a quadruped. The only thing I remember about rigging these guys is keeping in mind it's like a human leg but standing on the tippy toes. I'm gonna be honest, there's not a lot of free info out there when it comes to specifics. I've been following this tutorial here https://www.peachpit.com/articles/art...02262&seqNum=3 but it seems a little outdated and my rig doesn't seem to be achieving the same results it's intending to give me. I can't seem to find any better ones for the moment. I think the only way I can describe my multiple issues is to put it in pictures... and again I apologize for my newniness. user added image

So here's the rig. From what I gather my issues seem to stem from the joint orientation... but I'm not quite sure:
user added image

I'm at the point where I'm to orient constrain the IK controller at the top of the shin, to the bottom ankle joint. I'm guessing this is to give rotational control over the foot. But I then this happens:
user added image