SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Lighting & Rendering / Image plane and sloooooonesss

Lighting & Rendering General Lighting, Camera & Rendering Related Topics

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
20-08-2004, 07:15 PM   #1
sjurick
Subscriber
 
sjurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 136
Image plane and sloooooonesss
Hi. I just decided to start modeling a car and have my image planes imported onto each of the Orthographic cameras. When I switch to one of the cameras with the image plane visible, my dollying and other camera moves are incredibly slow!

I thought it was because I was using .tga files of about 1.179K, so I went back in Photoshop and saved them as .gifs. Now the largest is 18K, and still the camera moves are painfully slow. If I turn off the image plane, everything is fast again. I don't use the image planes in the Perspective view and it is working just fine.

Any ideas on what to do about this?

I am using Maya 6.0.1 with ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128 AGP.
__________________
"Please excuse the crudity of this model, I didnít have time to build it to scale or to paint it"
:: Dr. Emmett Brown
  Reply with quote
20-08-2004, 07:32 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
i recomend using poly planes for your image planes
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
  Reply with quote
20-08-2004, 08:49 PM   #3
sjurick
Subscriber
 
sjurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 136
Yes I remember that from your Shark tutorial and it worked well.

I got this issue resolved...somehow. I decided to go to ATI and get the latest video driver and that seemed to pep things up.

Workin' like a champ now.

Thanks.
__________________
"Please excuse the crudity of this model, I didnít have time to build it to scale or to paint it"
:: Dr. Emmett Brown
  Reply with quote