SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / Maya Texturing - remove surface outline
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
Thread Tools
Old 21-07-2017, 07:27 AM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 14
Default Maya Texturing - remove surface outline


First time trying to create game hair. Workflow is exporting UV from Maya into photoshop (ps) using a plane surface to draw on. I created an alpha channel after painting hair and saved file as tga which autowires the transparency channel back in maya when I assign it as color file in a blinn material. My only issue now is the plane object that the material is assigned too is showing an outline. How to overcome this?

selement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2017, 08:03 AM   #2
tweetytunes's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,456

I have had this in the past and I think it was due to the Diffuse being set to 0.8 by default with the shader (Blinn>Common Material Attributes > Diffuse) - Setting this to 1 should fix it for you.
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to make Maya 2016 look and behave more like 2011 danielchappelle Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 15-08-2016 10:47 AM
Error Reading File... HELP ME PLEASE roryfollansbee Challenge Forum 1 16-04-2016 09:00 AM
Maya 2015 Error loading scene Awad96 Technical Issues 5 05-09-2015 03:24 PM
Maya 2013 problem when starting: Menu set update NecroNinja34 Technical Issues 2 29-01-2013 07:35 AM
Maya scene files and rendered .iff files disappearing from HDD on file load priimate Technical Issues 3 06-05-2011 09:34 AM