SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Your Work / Work In Progress / It's Krusty the Clown!

Work In Progress Post your WIP here to get some feedback and critique from our other members.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
08-08-2008, 02:40 AM   #1
jm82792
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 119
It's Krusty the Clown!
Alright this is my first okay organic character.
He needs alot more work ,I have 3 hours on him .
I need to smooth him out and upload a better pic since the forum limits the quality(I'm getting problems).
I'd upload more pics but my windows computer has a malicious program(I have the internet disabled) I'm trying to deal with.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp crusty 3.bmp (81.1 KB, 73 views)

Last edited by jm82792; 08-08-2008 at 03:45 AM.
  Reply with quote
08-08-2008, 06:13 AM   #2
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,514
80kb for a tiny grayscale image lol don't use the .bmp format, large file sizes for no good reason, especially for internet purposes >< plus I can't see much to crit really.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
08-08-2008, 06:49 AM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
agreed with GecT

post up a 400x400 render from maya as a jpeg.

they get save as lowest quality anyway so chances of you going over the size limit from a jpeg rendered and saved straight out from Maya wont give you issues

you could even post a 1024x1024 jpg of it

but dont actually do that because it doesnt look like there is much there to take up room
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
  Reply with quote
08-08-2008, 08:58 AM   #4
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Use this:
http://my.imageshack.us

That way you have a 1.5 MB limit...

Render a 800X600 PNG or TIFF from Maya. That always enough for me (so far...).

Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
  Reply with quote
09-08-2008, 06:18 PM   #5
jm82792
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 119
He needs a large amount of work in almost every area
So here it is for the at the moment :



His arms need to be fatter and sculpted better,same with the hands.
The shoes need mroe defined "sharpness" and the face needs a ton of work.

Last edited by jm82792; 09-08-2008 at 06:22 PM.
  Reply with quote
09-08-2008, 06:48 PM   #6
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,514
1. You could've built both arms at the same time if you had extruded the faces together, because now one arm is probably going to end up looking much different than the other.

2. When you're posting wires you may want to use the wireframe on shaded mode (Shading>Wireframe on Shaded) instead of the straight wireframe view as its not messy.

3. I would've modeled the hair separately, I just think shading that will turn out to be a pain in the butt later on.

Good Luck and Have Fun.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
09-08-2008, 07:21 PM   #7
jm82792
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 119
Okay I have a model of him without hair or arms
I was planning on cutting and mirroring him but you(I do) do want the porportions. Alright I'll work on it and post back.
I'll probly finish my ktichen before I finish Krusty since I'm slightly burned out on organic modeling

Last edited by jm82792; 09-08-2008 at 07:23 PM.
  Reply with quote
14-08-2008, 03:02 AM   #8
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
for a sec, i though he had some disease growing on the left side of his face, but realised it was his hair, LOL! :p

cant wait to see how this turns up ...
  Reply with quote
14-08-2008, 05:38 AM   #9
lealar
Registered User
 
lealar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 296
Hi jm82792, so glad to see you and your posts. Hope more!

keep up!

Lealar DB
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Super Villain Challenge, Villain clown sokol Previous Challenges (Archives) 6 28-06-2009 12:23 AM
July/August_Norm_shaneH shaneH Previous Challenges (Archives) 54 29-08-2005 06:22 AM
crazy clown dark-link Work In Progress 8 07-10-2004 09:39 PM
Character Set: Clown Leader/Darkness migusan76 Finished Work 22 20-04-2003 12:25 PM
WIP: first character dope bread clown man? orgeeizm Work In Progress 2 07-04-2003 10:41 PM