SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Maya 2008: Mouse Wheel Zoom

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
12-03-2008, 09:35 AM   #1
azumauta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Maya 2008: Mouse Wheel Zoom
Hello! I installed this earlier today and I've been playing around with it. At first I could zoom in and out of the work area with my mouse wheel, but now it won't work. I can pan, I can rotate, but no zoom. Can anyone please tell me how to fix this? Thank you in advance.
  Reply with quote
12-03-2008, 11:53 AM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
if you can't get the scroll wheel to work, don't forget that you can use alt+mouse buttons to do rotate, pan, and zoom. pressing the scroll wheel down works the same as using the mmb.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
  Reply with quote
12-03-2008, 12:19 PM   #3
azumauta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks for the reply!

I didn't forget, actually. Scrolling zoom doesn't work with or without pressing ALT now, and it did before. My mouse wheel works fine for everything else, and now when I use it, a red line appears to kind of skim along an axis point in four view.

Further thoughts? ^_~
  Reply with quote
15-03-2008, 12:07 AM   #4
azumauta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Bump.. could really use some help on this please.
  Reply with quote
15-03-2008, 12:13 AM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
You got any drivers for it???

Other than that I aint a clue, I doebt its maya unless you've changed something.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
15-03-2008, 12:21 AM   #6
azumauta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Yeah I have drivers, but I didn't alter anything between the time it was working and the time it wasn't, haha. Thanks for the shot though.
  Reply with quote
15-03-2008, 02:05 AM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
You could try deleting your maya preferences... Thats about the only things I can think of.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
15-03-2008, 03:22 AM   #8
azumauta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
That's not a bad idea.. I'll look up how to do that. Thank you!
  Reply with quote
15-03-2008, 04:05 AM   #9
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,514
go into your "my documents" folder and delete the maya>blahblah version folder.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
15-03-2008, 10:12 PM   #10
azumauta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Brilliant, that fixed it. Thank you!
  Reply with quote
15-03-2008, 11:49 PM   #11
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Quote:
Originally posted by GecT
go into your "my documents" folder and delete the maya>blahblah version folder.
Or the Prefs folder in that, dont want to loose any scripts in there.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
16-03-2008, 01:02 AM   #12
azumauta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
I'd only made one script so far, so it was all good. Thanks again!
  Reply with quote
16-03-2008, 09:50 PM   #13
tatum7496
Registered User
 
tatum7496's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: -
Posts: 1
Ummm
__________________
Yes I am
  Reply with quote
23-03-2008, 03:46 AM   #14
TheDave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Maybe you have already solved it, but if it happens again check Windows > Settings/Preferences > Preferences > Interface

The lowest option is Mouse scroll wheel enable/disable

Bye

Dave
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cant open file Jimmer Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 18-09-2014 03:58 AM
How to install PyMel and Python scripts in Maya 2008? Nixa Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 01-04-2014 08:41 AM
trouble opening maya scene jooleyinboots Maya Technical Issues 2 03-02-2014 09:11 PM
Maya 2008 Compatibility sirwill Maya Technical Issues 2 30-04-2013 06:20 PM
hl2 smd export for maya 2008 ben hobden Maya Technical Issues 8 18-03-2009 01:31 AM