Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 1
This course will look at the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. We'll look at what makes a good model in Maya and why objects are modeled in the way they are.
# 1 11-11-2013 , 09:59 PM

Tips for a Newbie, and help with this 3d addiction

Hi Fellow Mayans user added image,

I know im possibly going to inflame some folks seeing as this is not a welcome lounge, but i'd just like to say hi and what a wonderful resource ive found this site, even though im still a newbie Mayan.

I've been trying to learn Maya for round about a month now, while i feel im kinda getting somewhere, I have also came face to face with a cold hard wall called texturing and especially UV's. So while im sure im going to post alot about problems/issues im having, the one that feels like its holding me back at the moment is as mentioned the texturing/UV problem, I feel i understand in theory what UV's are and some of the methods used in texturing a model, the main problem seems to be the UV maps, they look like blueprints to alien technology to me unless its a very simple shape.

What (if it's not a huge can of worms ) is the best method to texturing more specifically creating UV maps, which i can use/understand for texturing models, after a bit of research i would like to create my own texture maps with a paint program ie photoshop or the like, and back into Maya im sure you peeps know the drill. I have spent alot of time on youtube etc trying to learn more about UV mapping, but feel im kind of getting know where.