Substance Painter
In this start to finish texturing project within Substance Painter we cover all the techniques you need to texture the robot character.
# 1 23-11-2005 , 05:38 PM
Subscriber

My first piece of character animation on Maya

Greetings!

This is my first post on simplymaya. Have only been using Maya for the last few weeks (used to use Carrara and RayDream) and have got a short piece of animation done now with the SM walk cycle tutorial kid.

I'm new to animating in Maya and there's still something that doesn't feel quite right about this animation of mine so if anyone has any ideas that would be grrreat!

Cheers everyone

Simon

Attached Files
File Type: zip inflatekid.zip (240.8 KB, 361 views)
# 2 24-11-2005 , 05:18 AM
Subscriber
Not too shabby for a first try! There are a few moments where the character looks natural.

The first and most important thing is to pose your character. It looks to me like you animated "straight ahead", and it seems you wanted to get everything in all at once. The end result is that it looks a bit weak in places. You need to proceed in passes. What you have is an acceptable first pass, but I think the key poses can be stronger. Strong key poses will add things like weight and life to the character.

Each pose should say something. I'm not sure what kind of background you have in animation, but I've been in traditional animation for fifteen years, and what applies to traditional drawn animation applies almost doubly to everything one does in Maya. You're just using a different "pencil"!

Think of your character as a poseable action figure. Think of the four or five most important "key" positions the figure will assume during the course of the animation. In short, get one of the many good books on traditional animation, and study the classic cartoons (ie Bugs Bunny, Goofy, &c).