SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Modeling / File can't be open!?

Maya Modeling Everything on Modeling Techniques and Tools - NURBS, Polygons and Subdivisions Related in this Section.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
12-03-2005, 04:22 PM   #1
jhaydock
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bonny Scotland!
Posts: 116
File can't be open!?
Please help, i've spent rather a long time doing this model.

Bisically when I try and open the maya file I recieve the folowing message:

fileOptions "Open" "projectViewer Open";
pv_performAction "C:/Documents and Settings/Jamie/My Documents/maya/5.0/Projects/Eve/Caldari_Shuttle.mb" "Best Guess";
file -f -options "v=0" -typ "mayaBinary" -o "C:/Documents and Settings/Jamie/My Documents/maya/5.0/Projects/Eve/Caldari_Shuttle.mb";addRecentFile("C:/Documents and Settings/Jamie/My Documents/maya/5.0/Projects/Eve/Caldari_Shuttle.mb", "mayaBinary");
// Error: line 1: Reading of binary file "Caldari_Shuttle.mb" failed. //
// Error: Error reading file. //

Has anyone come accroess this before? Will I have to start the project from scratch? i've tried importing but no luck

Cheers
  Reply with quote
12-03-2005, 06:27 PM   #2
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Have you run any diagnostics on your hard drive to ensure there are no bad sectors? You may be getting file corruption.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
  Reply with quote
12-03-2005, 07:22 PM   #3
jhaydock
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bonny Scotland!
Posts: 116
I have no bad sectors...

The file can be open, I may have worded that wrongly, but only one deformed cyclinder is shown in wireframe with no shader. I can see all the other objects in the Hypergraph, when selected I can apparently move and transform them in the view port but they are not showing up. Also I can assign shaders, but again the objects don't show.

Only the one object that loads renders...

Any more idea?

Cheers
  Reply with quote
13-03-2005, 07:32 PM   #4
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,277
A quick way to solve this is to export the objects as .obj files then import back in.

_J
  Reply with quote
13-03-2005, 07:56 PM   #5
jhaydock
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bonny Scotland!
Posts: 116
Thanks for the reply,

I tried this, however and it didn't work.

i've attatched the Maya Binary file if anyone wants to have a look at this anomoly.

Cheers,

Jamie
Attached Files
File Type: mb caldari_shuttle.mb (198.0 KB, 38 views)
  Reply with quote
13-03-2005, 07:59 PM   #6
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
umm. I opened it, saw what I think is one wing, tried to open outliner and Maya crashed...
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
  Reply with quote
13-03-2005, 08:30 PM   #7
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
okay here's what i see now...
Item 1 had no UVs and no shader, items 2 &3 had no UVs.

there are still nodes I haven't been able to make visible...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	junk.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	46.8 KB
ID:	20300  
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."

Last edited by mhcannon; 13-03-2005 at 08:38 PM.
  Reply with quote
13-03-2005, 08:38 PM   #8
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
outliner... numbered items are visible
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	junk2.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	20301  
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
  Reply with quote
16-03-2005, 10:22 AM   #9
jhaydock
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bonny Scotland!
Posts: 116
Thanks for that mhcannon, i'll just have to start the project again when I have time.

Thanks again,

Jock
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
// Error: line 0: Error reading file. PiroEfekta Programming 13 03-08-2016 05:52 PM
Error Reading File... HELP ME PLEASE roryfollansbee Challenge Forum 1 16-04-2016 09:00 AM
// Warning: line 0: swatches file depend node not found paragsharma Programming 0 14-12-2014 12:44 PM
Cant open file Jimmer Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 18-09-2014 03:58 AM
trouble opening maya scene jooleyinboots Maya Technical Issues 2 03-02-2014 09:11 PM