SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / What are Volume Primitives?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-06-2003, 12:27 PM   #1
luismg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 13
Default What are Volume Primitives?

I can't find anything in the help.
luismg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2003, 01:53 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Default

they're kinda like little blocks of fog.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2003, 02:25 PM   #3
luismg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 13
Default

hmmm ok, thank you for the fast reply.

I was thinking they were some kind of "solids".

In AutoCAD you have both kinds of primitives: surfaces and solids; whereas here in Maya you have only surfaces.

I'm just starting with Maya and it's modelling process is very different than autocad. I feel I don't have any precision!

Thank you

Luismg
luismg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2003, 02:28 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Default

AutoCAD is used mostly for building 3D representations of actual products to be made, so they've made more of an effort for exact measurements.

Maya isn't used for that sort of thing as often. There are measuring tools though.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off