Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 14-02-2008 , 10:49 PM

texturing or modeling - which is more important?

Hi, So i've been using Maya and learning for a few months now, and it seems to me that you can do so much with textures and in the hypershade than i first thought!

I wonder whether i'm getting too hung up on modeling and spending too much time making everything perfect in the modeling stage of the process - like deforming bricks and modeling each roof tile (well not quite but you know what i mean), or for example modeling cobblestones (which took me ages) whereas i could have done it much quicker with displacement/bump map.

Would you say it would be better to spend less time on the modeling, i.e just get everything in the right position but stick to simple polygon shapes like cubes/spheres etc - and spend more time in the texturing stages where you can quickly impart the illusion of roof tiles/cobblestones, dirt, debris etc?

Up to now i've been spending a lot of time learning modeling, but now wonder whether i have spent too much time on this and neglected learning the texturing/lighting/rendering skills that really bring a scene to life?

# 2 14-02-2008 , 11:21 PM
Lifetime Member
Niether is more important, they are equality important to each other.The modelling needs to be clean and functional for what it has to do and the texturing can make or break a model.

There is certainly no harm in spending time modelling because the more practice you have the better and more importantly faster you will get, however some things are simply not worth the time it would take to model perticularly if the item will only be seen for an instant or from a distance.