SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Modeling / Splitting up a model

Maya Modeling Everything on Modeling Techniques and Tools - NURBS, Polygons and Subdivisions Related in this Section.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
22-10-2004, 03:49 AM   #1
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 369
Splitting up a model
It seems like it should be such a basic and easy thing but I can't find out how to do this. I have a single piece model of a dinosaur (who doesn't these days) and I want to seperate it into various pieces. I know how to use the "cut face" tool but I want to be able to select a group of faces then turn them into a seperate model. Example: I want to select the faces around his eye then extract that as a seperate model. I tried using Extract (with the "seperate extracted faces" off) then "Seperate" but the best I got was a bunch of faces that looked very faceted plus, They were disconnected from each other!! I tried selecting a bunch of edges to form a border around the area using extract and/or seperate (I tried so many things, I can't remember all of them) anyway, the bottom like is that I can't figure out how to take a single piece model and cut the mesh into seperate model pieces.

You can see the dinosaur I'm talking about on the cover page of my site: www.morphicmotion.com

Thanks for any help you can give. By the way, it's a polygon model and I'm using Maya 6. Thank for any help you can give me.
  Reply with quote
22-10-2004, 04:58 AM   #2
goosemage
Registered User
 
goosemage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 50
You could extract the faces then group them, and then just move the pivot point to the middle of the grouped faces. Uhm, really I don't know why you would want it in a bunch of peices. If it was nurbs you could just add isoparms and use the cut curve tool to detach it. You could always go polys>subdiv>nurbs, make your cuts>polys, group patches of polys. Never accually tried to do such I thing I guess. Another way would be to duplicate the dino, go into faces selection mode, cut the edge of the arm or leg or whatever, then delete all the faces you don't need. Repeat for each part.
  Reply with quote
28-10-2004, 07:02 PM   #3
Nimmel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 24
Take a look on highend3d.com, there is a script called detachSeparate.mel which does what you are looking for.

Richard
__________________
----------------------------------------------
Richard Cheek
http://www.freelance-animation.com
----------------------------------------------
  Reply with quote
30-10-2004, 12:35 AM   #4
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
I dont see what the problem is. Couldnt you just select the faces and hit extract? I dont think ive ever had a problem with it before...
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
  Reply with quote
09-11-2004, 08:32 AM   #5
Satan-lx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
What?
good
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Character Model Problem MissKelly Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 06-07-2013 03:36 PM
All steps to get a good model Skalman Maya Modeling 2 15-05-2013 05:56 PM
problem translating model leotikansas Maya Modeling 6 15-08-2006 06:22 PM
Make a model for real Velusion Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 10 01-05-2006 11:34 PM
Referencing a model in a scene..? tank2002 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 05-04-2004 09:52 PM