SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Random initial spin to active rigid body.

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
03-02-2003, 01:19 AM   #1
grunze
Registered User
 
grunze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 117
Random initial spin to active rigid body.
Does anyone know how to assign a random initial spin to whole bunch of rigid bodies, so i dont have to go into each one and do it manually?

Thanks!!!!!!

:banana:
__________________
Thanks,
Ari
  Reply with quote
03-02-2003, 06:16 AM   #2
ragecgi
Registered User
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Well, long story short, you could use an expression like this:

Select all of your rigid objects in the viewport, then in the channelbox, highlight the x,y and z initialSpin attributes, right-click and choose expressions, and paste this into the box:

RigidObjectName|SolverName.initialSpinX = rand(1,2);
RigidObjectName|SolverName.initialSpinY = rand(1,2);
RigidObjectName|SolverName.initialSpinZ = rand(1,2);

Worked for me.....
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
  Reply with quote
03-02-2003, 10:24 PM   #3
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Well, I typed that in, but it doesn't work. Is "RigidObjectName" supposed to be a variable for "rigidBody1, rigidBody2, etc'? Because all objects you select have a different rigid body with them. If you have to type the name of every rigid body in place of "RigidBodyName" then we would have a lot of typing to do. Also, what is the "SolverName" for? If it's not a variable, what should I replace it with? Perhaps writting it out a little more would help me. I just stink at this stuff. Sorry! lol!

Let's say we have polyCube1, polyCube2, and polyCube3. Each are active rigid bodies. polyCube1 had rigidBody1, polyCube2 has rigidBody2, and polyCube3 has rigidBody3. After selecting all three, shift-selecting the initialSpin X, Y, and Z attributes in the channel box, then right-clicking and choosing "Expressions" what do you type in the box?
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
  Reply with quote
03-02-2003, 11:16 PM   #4
ragecgi
Registered User
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Each of your rigids have a "different" solver?? weird...

By default, when you create your first active rigid object in your scene, Maya creates a default rigid "Solver".

Then, every object you create after that, i.e. polycube2, polycube3 etc. are attached to that same solver unless you tell Maya otherwise.

(at least, that's the way it has always worked for me in 4.0 and 4.5)

You should only have one main rigid solver, for your rigids.

So, for my expression to work, you would have had to select all of your objects that you want rigid, then make them active rigids, then you would have only ONE solver for all of your objects.

hehe... I suck at this too, but my expression worked for me so....
not sure what else I can tell ya....

Sorry.... I'm a tard....
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating active rigid body jarwulf Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 20-07-2016 09:34 PM
Necklace simulation: animated character doesn't turn into passive rigid body Etienne79 Dynamics & Special Effects 0 19-05-2014 05:41 PM
Active rigid body disappearing danielames Dynamics & Special Effects 1 19-10-2011 12:45 PM
I have a problem whith animate of active rigid body taheri_mdm Dynamics & Special Effects 1 03-08-2008 11:17 PM
Please help with Goal_PP Joselu I.B. Dynamics & Special Effects 6 24-04-2003 12:06 AM